Louisiana Love Call (Shout! Factory)

Louisiana Love Call (Shout! Factory)

by Maria Muldaur


View All Available Formats & Editions


Louisiana Love Call is Maria Muldaur's tribute to New Orleans. Originally issued in 1992 on the now-defunct Black Top label, the set features Muldaur in the company of some of the Crescent City's most storied players, including Dr. John, Zachary Richard, and Aaron and Charles Neville. Recorded at the famed Ultrasonic Studio and produced by Hammond Scott, Muldaur uses a balance of contemporary and vintage material. Standout tracks include her gorgeous read of Danny and Blue Lu Barker's "Don't You Feel My Leg," and a fiery, sultry version of B. Charles' "Dem Dat Know." Songwriter Marty Grebb contributes fine tunes, such as the title track that offers Muldaur the opportunity to croon at her sweetest, while Jon Cleary's stomping "Second Line" has her pulling out all the stops with Aaron and Charles Neville backing her. Her sense of rhythmic phrasing is, as always, impeccable. It would have been nice to hear Muldaur take on more of the Big Easy's standards song book, but as always, she does it her way and the result is a deeply satisfying R&B album. Louisiana Love Call and its follow-up, Meet Me at Midnite (1994), were remastered and re-released by Shout Factory in 2005.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/03/2005
Label: Shout Factory
UPC: 0826663434323
catalogNumber: 34343

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Maria Muldaur   Primary Artist,Tambourine,Vocals
Zachary Richard   Accordion
Dr. John   Piano,Vocals
Aaron Neville   Background Vocals
David Torkanowsky   Organ,Synthesizer,Piano,Keyboards
Charles Neville   Soprano Saxophone,Background Vocals
Amos Garrett   Guitar
Lucy Burnett   Background Vocals
Cranston Clements   Guitar,Background Vocals
Herman V. Ernest   Drums
Larry Jacobs   Harmonica
Mark "Kaz" Kazanoff   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Phillip Manuel   Background Vocals
Alfred "Uganda" Roberts   Percussion
Chris Severin   Electric Bass,6-string bass
Jamil Sharif   Trumpet
Kenneth "Afro" Williams   Percussion
Ernest Youngblood   Tenor Saxophone
Laurence "Rockin Jake" Jacobs   Harmonica
Herman V. Ernest   Drums
Lucy Burnett   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Dr. John   Horn Arrangements
David Farrell   Original Mix
Marty Grebb   Horn Arrangements
Hammond Scott   Producer,Audio Production,Original Mix
Mark "Kaz" Kazanoff   Horn Arrangements
Ted Myers   Reissue Assistant
Bob Tooke   Assistant Photographer
John Roberts   Reissue Art
Derek Dressler   Reissue Assistant
Jeff Palo   Reissue Producer
Hauman Scott   Executive Producer
J. Cleary   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews