Love God. Love People. The London Sessions

Love God. Love People. The London Sessions

by Israel Houghton



The Beatles-referencing cover art and "London Sessions" subtitle are hints that Israel Houghton's second solo effort was recorded primarily at the famed Abbey Road studios, but the historical flavor ends there. From its opening title track -- which is so electro and synthetic it could have come from any given laptop -- to the epic and elaborate closer "Hosanna (Be Lifted Higher)," Love God. Love People. is the standard issue Iz release, which is to say it's daring, uplifting, ambitious, exciting, infectious, and ultimately quite satisfying. Besides the highlights that bookend the album, check the grand piano and strings that help make "Others" one of Israel's most memorable ballads or "Our God" for that horn-driven, funky style of worship that Mr. Houghton always nails. Longtime fans will find the guest appearances from Kirk Franklin and Fred Hammond to be as excellent as expected and will be pleasantly surprised that the three tracks written with Israel's wife Melissa -- including the aforementioned "Others" -- are equal to those written with longtime collaborator Aaron Lindsey. Recommended, just don't expect a significant U.K. influence.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/31/2010
Label: Sony
UPC: 0886977369728
catalogNumber: 773697

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Israel Houghton   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Background Vocals
Javier Solís   Percussion
Matthew Ward   Background Vocals
Kirk Franklin   Vocals
Fred Hammond   Bass
Mark Kibble   Vocals
Aaron Lindsey   Bass,Piano,Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals,Piano (Upright),Hammond B3
London Session Orchestra   Strings
Omar Martinez   Trumpet
Claude V. McKnight   Vocals
Tommy Sims   Bass,Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals,Hammond B3
Chris Lawson   Background Vocals
Dan Needham   Drums
Vinnie Ciesielski   Trumpet
Gavin Greenaway   Conductor
Don Wilkinson   Vocals
Roy Agee   Trombone
Randy Allison   Saxophone
Joel Kibble   Vocals
Nikki Ross   Background Vocals
Akil Thompson   Electric Guitar
Jovaun Woods   Background Vocals
London Oratory School Schola   Boy's Choir
Jimmy Bowland   Saxophone
Teddy Campbell   Drums
Jay King   Foot Stomping
Daniel Johnson   Vocals,Background Vocals
Nicole Binion   Background Vocals
New Breed   Background Vocals
Neville Diedericks   Vocals
Michael Gungor   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Guitar (Nylon String)
Krystle Harper   Vocals,Background Vocals
Erica King   Background Vocals
Jeremiah Woods   Vocals,Background Vocals
Lois DuPlessis   Vocals,Background Vocals
Sherree Brown   Background Vocals
Sherree Ford   Background Vocals
Mike Donohue   Trombone
Charlin Moore   Background Vocals
Shawn Flowers   Background Vocals
Scott Dozier   Vocals

Technical Credits

Danny Duncan   Engineer
Mark Kibble   Arranger
Aaron Lindsey   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Vocal Arrangements,Horn Arrangements,drum programming
Omar Martinez   Horn Arrangements
Michael Mellett   Director
Kenny Riley   Engineer
Tommy Sims   Composer,Producer,Vocal Arrangements,Horn Arrangements,drum programming
Brian Tankersley   Engineer
Mark Townsend   Engineer
Dan Needham   Programming
David Hamilton   Arranger,String Arrangements
Chris Springer   Artist Development
Chris Tomlin   Composer
Darius Fentress   Engineer
Jay King   Artist Development
Jesse Reeves   Composer
Israel Houghton   Composer,Producer,Vocal Arrangements,Horn Arrangements
Sam Noerr   Art Direction
Terrance Jones   Engineer
Rich Ramsey   Engineer
Nikki Taylor   Booking
Jonas Myrin   Composer
Michael Gungor   Composer
Casey Graham   Engineer
Sidney Mohede   Composer
Lee Ward   Director
James Wadell   Engineer
Meleasa Houghton   Composer
Derek "DC" Clark   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews