Lucinda Williams

Lucinda Williams

by Lucinda Williams


$16.00 $18.99 Save 16% Current price is $16, Original price is $18.99. You Save 16%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24


Lucinda Williams took eight years to write and record her second album of original songs, which was released by the independent Rough Trade in what was decidedly a left turn for them. It was the beginning of a career that has been complex but singular, and eventually led to the recording of the classic Car Wheels on a Gravel Road. Each song here is meticulously crafted as she deftly blends country, blues, folk, and rock -- now called 'Americana" -- to create a unique sound that cannot be pigeonholed. Her voice contains heartache, passion, and depth and is as enigmatic as Emmylou Harris', but she has a darker side and a grainy toughness that allow her to live inside her songs with abandon. Lucinda Williams is an album that has been long been recognized as a classic. It has been mined for hit songs over the years by such artists as Mary Chapin Carpenter, who turned "Passionate Kisses" into a country hit, and Tom Petty, who included "Changed the Locks" on his soundtrack album She's the One. In addition to writing strong melodies, Williams has a knack for writing a lyric that acknowledges the complicated nature of romantic relationships that cuts to the heart of the matter. Each song packs an emotional punch and rewards the listener each time with something new. Other standouts include "This Night's Too Long," "I Just Wanted to See You So Bad," "Crescent City," "Abandoned," and "Big Red Sun Blues." In fact, there isn't a weak number in the bunch. Lucinda Williams is must-own for music fans who appreciate great songwriting. [This double-disc remaster was funded through a Pledge Music campaign; its sound is utterly fantastic. In addition to the original album, it includes a bonus disc that features a 14-song concert from the Netherlands in 1989 known as "Eindhoven Live" and featuring guitarist Gurf Morlix, as well as three tracks recorded at station KPFK, two more from KCRW, and one from NOISE. This is the way to reissue a classic recording.]

Product Details

Release Date: 01/14/2014
Label: Lucinda Williams
UPC: 0794504955453
catalogNumber: 55453
Rank: 50980

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Lucinda Williams   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Taj Mahal   Guitar,Harmonica
Chris Gaffney   Accordion
Jim Lauderdale   Background Vocals
Doug Atwell   Fiddle
John Ciambotti   Bass,Vocals,Standup Bass,3-String Bass
Skip Edwards   Keyboards
Donald Lindley   Drums
Gurf Morlix   Acoustic Guitar,Dobro,Mandolin,Pedal Steel Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals,6-string bass,Lap Steel Guitar,Guitar (12 String Electric)
Steve Mugalian   Washboard
Juke Logan   Harmonica
Pat Quinn   Background Vocals
Jim Lessey   Bass

Technical Credits

Melvin "Lil' Son" Jackson   Composer
Lucinda Williams   Arranger,Composer,Original Album Producer
Greg Allen   Reissue Design,Layout
Gurf Morlix   Original Album Producer
John Scott Sherrill   Composer
Dusty Wakeman   Producer,Engineer
Brian Cullman   Producer
Howard Larman   Producer
Minnie McCoy   Composer
Peter Cutler   Producer,Engineer
Roz Larman   Producer
Hobart Taylor   Executive Producer
Tom Overby   Reissue Producer
Traditional   Composer
Frank Eaton   Engineer
Robin Hurley   Liner Notes
Chester Burnett   Composer
Chris Morris   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews