Machine Soul: An Odyssey Into Electronic Dance Music

Machine Soul: An Odyssey Into Electronic Dance Music



Here's a wonderfully expansive trek across some of electronic music's less-traveled paths, with a few stops at well-known landmarks thrown in as a bonus. Much of the first disc focuses on the genre's roots, from the Teutonic throb of Kraftwerk's 1978 classic "Robots" to the eerie new wave sheen of Gary Numan's "Cars" and O.M.D.'s "Electricity." Interestingly enough, the compilation's producers manage to weave strands of mainstream disco (like Donna Summer's Moroder-led "I Feel Love") into the tapestry without anything seeming mismatched. The set's second disc brings out the '90s troops in force, with appearances from pioneering rave scene staples such as the Orb (represented by a four-minute slice of "Little Fluffy Clouds") and the Shamen (whose "Move Any Mountain" stands the test of time surprisingly well). Add early material from such current speaker-shatters as Moby, the Prodigy, and Underworld, and you've got the makings of a house party sure to get your butt in gear -- and your neighbors up in arms.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/14/2000
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227978822
catalogNumber: 79788

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sparks   Track Performer
Donna Summer   Track Performer
Cybotron   Track Performer
Inner City   Track Performer
L.A. Style   Track Performer
Underworld   Track Performer
Newcleus   Track Performer
Prodigy   Track Performer
Fluke   Track Performer
M/A/R/R/S   Track Performer
Afrika Bambaataa   Track Performer
BT   Track Performer
Normal   Track Performer
Rhythim Is Rhythim   Track Performer
Paul van Dyk   Track Performer
Soul Sonic Force   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Arthur Baker   Producer
Cabaret Voltaire   Producer
Depeche Mode   Producer
KLF   Producer
Kraftwerk   Producer
New Order   Producer
Gary Numan   Producer
Orb   Producer
Throbbing Gristle   Producer
Richard Davis   Producer
Chris Carter   Composer
Moby   Composer,Producer
Cosey Fanni Tutti   Composer
Youth   Producer
Giorgio Moroder   Producer
Shamen   Composer,Producer
Fluke   Composer
Juan Atkins   Producer
Angelo Badalamenti   Composer
Pete Bellotte   Producer
Hugh Brown   Art Direction
Peter Christopherson   Composer
Norman Cook   Remixing
Flood   Producer
Genesis P-Orridge   Composer
Martin Gore   Composer
Daniel Miller   Producer
Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark   Producer
Kevin Saunderson   Producer
Thrash   Remixing
BT   Producer
Young   Composer,Producer
Liam Howlett   Producer
Steven Young   Composer
Chemical Brothers   Producer
Danny Goldman   Editorial Research
C   Composer
Colin Angus   Composer
Derrick May   Producer
Überzone   Producer
David Lynch   Composer
Chaz Stevens   Producer
Julie Vlasak   Art Direction
Ben "Cozmo-D" Cenac   Composer
Joe Webb   Producer
Craig DeGraff   Producer
Shawn Amos   Editorial Coordinator
Johan Kugelberg   Producer
Frank Fair   Producer
James Pennington   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews