Made in Japan [Deluxe Edition]

Made in Japan [Deluxe Edition]

by Deep Purple

CD(Special Edition)

$26.31 $27.99 Save 6% Current price is $26.31, Original price is $27.99. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, September 19


Recorded over three nights in August 1972, Deep Purple's Made in Japan was the record that brought the band to headliner status in the U.S. and elsewhere, and it remains a landmark in the history of heavy metal music. Since reorganizing with singer Ian Gillan and bassist Roger Glover in 1969, Deep Purple had recorded three important albums -- Deep Purple in Rock, Fireball, and Machine Head -- and used the material to build a fierce live show. Made in Japan, its selections drawn from those albums, documented that show, in which songs were drawn out to ten and even nearly 20 minutes with no less intensity, as guitarist Ritchie Blackmore and organist Jon Lord soloed extensively and Gillan sang in a screech that became the envy of all metal bands to follow. The signature song, of course, was "Smoke on the Water," with its memorable riff, which went on to become an American hit single. But those extended workouts, particularly the moody "Child in Time," with Gillan's haunting falsetto wail and Blackmore's amazingly fast playing, and "Space Truckin'," with Lord's organ effects, maintained the onslaught, making this a definitive treatment of the band's catalog and its most impressive album. By stretching out and going to extremes, Deep Purple pushed its music into the kind of deliberate excess that made heavy metal what it became, and their audience recognized the breakthrough, propelling the original double LP into the U.S. Top Ten and sales over a million copies. [A 2014 Deluxe Edition was also released.]

Product Details

Release Date: 05/27/2014
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227959432
catalogNumber: 542476
Rank: 65320

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Deep Purple   Primary Artist
Ian Gillan   Vocals
Ritchie Blackmore   Guitar
Roger Glover   Bass
Jon Lord   Organ,Piano
Ian Paice   Drums

Technical Credits

Deep Purple   Producer
Ritchie Blackmore   Composer
Roger Glover   Composer,Cover Design
Jon Lord   Composer
Gillan   Composer
Martin Birch   Engineer
Ian Paice   Composer
Richard Penniman   Composer
Malcolm Dome   Liner Notes
Giancarlo Sciama   Reissue Executive Producer
Darren Evans   Art Direction
C. Hart   Equipment Technician
Rob Cooksey   Equipment Technician
Ian Hansford   Equipment Technician
Ron Quinton   Equipment Technician
Drew Thompson   Reissue Executive Producer
Kathryn Gilfeather   Marketing
Andrew Daw   Reissue Executive Producer
Emma Shalless   Producer
Liam Lydon   Song Clearance
Faye Fanneran   Producer
Albert Collins   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews