Paperback

$11.11 $11.95 Save 7% Current price is $11.11, Original price is $11.95. You Save 7%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, September 20

Overview

In the tradition of Flann O'Brien's At Swim-Two-Birds, Gilbert Sorrentino's Mulligan Stew, and Raymond Queneau's The Flight of Icarus, Robert Pinget's Mahu or The Material tells the story of Mahu, a lazy man who may be a character in his friend Latirail's failing novel, which is taken over by characters invented by Sinture, yet another writer. The latter half of the novel consists of Mahu's strange and hilarious musings on everything from belly dancers to how he catches ideas from other people in the same way he catches germs. Mahu is Pinget's funniest novel, featuring a mix of dark humor and manic word-games, and is as inventive and energetic now as when it was first published.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781564783776
Publisher: Dalkey Archive Press
Publication date: 02/15/2005
Series: French Literature Series
Pages: 144
Product dimensions: 4.90(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.50(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Robert Pinget was born in 1920 in Geneva. His first collection of stories, Between Fantoine and Agapa, was pubished in 1951. Pinget has written more than 30 books: novels, plays, and "notebooks." His last book, Taches d'Encre came out in 1997, the year he died.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews