Mary Queen of Scots

Mary Queen of Scots

by Retha M. Warnicke

NOOK Book(eBook)

$37.99 $42.95 Save 12% Current price is $37.99, Original price is $42.95. You Save 12%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


"Scholars now have Warnicke to use as their chief one volume study of Mary"

Julian Goodare, University of Edinburgh

In this biography of one of the most intriguing figures of early modern European history, Retha Warnicke, widely regarded as a leading historian on Tudor queenship, offers a fresh interpretation of the life of Mary Stuart, popularly known as Mary Queen of Scots.

Setting Mary's life within the context of the cultural and intellectual climate of the time and bringing to life the realities of being a female monarch in the sixteenth century, Warnicke also examines Mary's three marriages, her constant ill health and her role in numerous plots and conspiracies. Placing Mary within the context of early modern gender relations, Warnicke reveals the challenges that faced her and the forces that worked to destroy her.

This highly readable and fascinating study will pour fresh light on the much-debated life of a central figure of the sixteenth century, providing a new interpretation of Mary Stuart's impact on politics, gender and nationhood in the Tudor era.


Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781134436064
Publisher: Taylor & Francis
Publication date: 04/18/2006
Series: Routledge Historical Biographies
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 336
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

 Retha M. Warnicke is Professor of History at Arizona State University. She has published widely on Tudor and Stuart history, women's history and cultural history and is the author of The Marrying of Anne of Cleves: Royal Protocol in Tudor England (2000) and The Rise and Fall of Anne Boleyn: Family Politics at the Court of Henry VIII (1991).

Table of Contents

List of Plates  Acknowledgements  Chronology  Genealogical Tables  1. Introduction  2.  Scottish Beginnings to 1548  3. French Uprising, 1548-1561  4. Returning Home, 1561-1563  5. Ruling Scotland, 1563-1566  6. Facing Adversity, 1566-1567  7. Seeking Refuge, 1567-1570  8. Negotiating Restitution, 1569-1584  9. Failing Enterprises, 1586-1587  Additional Reading

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews