Modern New Orleans Masters

Modern New Orleans Masters



This is an excellent budget compilation from Rounder, featuring modern New Orleans blues, soul, jazz, and funk. Even though some of the artists represented here have recorded for other labels over the years, Rounder has consistently championed excellent sessions from these key players in the Crescent City. Irma Thomas, the Dirty Dozen Brass Band, Johnny Adams, and Walter "Wolfman" Washington are all represented. An unreleased soulful outtake of "Amen" from James Booker's Classified sessions is the bonus ingredient in this enjoyable musical stew.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/25/1990
Label: Rounder Select
UPC: 0011661151420
catalogNumber: 11514

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Walter "Wolfman" Washington   Guitar,Vocals
Golden Eagles   Track Performer
Duke Robillard   Guitar
Irma Thomas   Vocals
Tony Dagradi   Tenor Saxophone
Steve Masakowski   Guitar
David Torkanowsky   Piano,Keyboards
Earl Turbinton   Soprano Saxophone,Track Performer
Tuts Washington   Piano
James Booker   Piano,Vocals
Willie Tee   Track Performer
Lawrence Adams   Vocals,Bottle,cowbell
Johnny Adams   Vocals
Wilbert "Junkyard Dog" Arnold   Drums
David Barard   Bass
Lionel Batiste   Bass Drums
Germaine Bazzle   Vocals
Scott Billington   Harmonica
James Black   Drums
Larry Boudreaux   Conga,Vocals
Kenneth "Skeeter" Bruce   Tambourine,Vocals
Glenn Carvin   Keyboards
Erving Charles   Bass
Gregory Davis   Trumpet
Herman V. Ernest   Drums
Elaine Foster   Background Vocals
Lisa Foster   Background Vocals
Sharon Foster   Background Vocals
Darrel Francis   Bass
George French   Electric Bass
Ernie Gautreau   Valve Trombone
Charlie Henry   Bass
Norwood Johnson   Bass Drums,Vocals
Charles Joseph   Trombone
Kirk Joseph   Sousaphone
Fred Kemp   Tenor Saxophone
Clyde Kerr   Flugelhorn
Guillermo Ladut   Guitar
Roger Lewis   Baritone Saxophone
Jenell Marshall   Snare Drums
Van Odom   Drums
Renard Poché   Guitar
Elijah Rodgers   Guitar
Bill "Foots" Samuel   Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Joe Saulsbury   Tenor Saxophone
Henry Singleton   Conga,Vocals
James Singleton   Bass
Johnny "Quarter Moon" Tobias   Tambourine,Vocals
Efrem Towns   Trumpet
Terry Tullos   Trumpet,Flugelhorn,French Horn
Alvin "Red" Tyler   Tenor Saxophone
Johnny Vidacovich   Drums
Emile Vinette   Piano
Lawrence Weber   Trumpet
Craig Wroten   Keyboards
Monk Boudreaux   Tambourine,Vocals
Wendell Brunious   Trumpet
Kevin Harris   Tenor Saxophone
Ed Frank   Piano
Harold J. Scott   Bass
New Orleans Saxophone Ensemble   Track Performer
Joseph "Smokey" Johnson   Drums
Ed Frank Quintet   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Walter "Wolfman" Washington   rhythm arrangement
Irma Thomas   Producer
Dirty Dozen Brass Band   Producer
George Wein   Executive Producer
Mark Bingham   Engineer
Scott Billington   Producer,Liner Notes
Quint Davis   Producer
David Farrell   Engineer
Jay Gallagher   Engineer
Ron Levy   Producer
John Parsons   Producer
Kalamu Ya Salaam   Producer
Bill "Foots" Samuel   Horn Arrangements
David Richards   Engineer
Louise Mouton   Illustrations

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews