While it's not surprising that Monster-in-Law's soundtrack boasts an estrogen-heavy track listing, this is an unusually hip collection of songs for a mainstream romantic comedy. Singer/songwriters dominate the album, but performers such as Rachael Yamagata and Nellie McKay -- whose hilarious, thinly veiled threat "Won't U Please B Nice" is a standout -- make sure that things don't get too sweet. Even the prettiest moments, like Ivy's "I've Been Thinking About You" and Madeleine Peyroux's "Don't Wait Too Long," are elegant instead of cloying. With artists including Jem, Joss Stone, Tegan & Sara, and Astaire, Monster-in-Law often feels like a who's who of up-and-coming, post-Lilith Fair-era female performers; it's a pleasant soundtrack, especially because it's often pleasantly unpredictable.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/16/2005
Label: Imports
UPC: 0738572118723
catalogNumber: 956581

Album Credits

Technical Credits

Dar Williams   Composer
Larry Klein   Composer
Daryle Swann   Composer
Mark Batson   Composer
Sean Lennon   Composer
Jesse Harris   Composer
Madeleine Peyroux   Composer
Howard Blake   Composer
Paul Broucek   Music Executive
Esthero   Composer
Andy Chase   Composer
Mike Caren   Composer
Bob Bowen   Music Executive
Even Johansen   Composer
Tegan Quin   Composer
Sara Quin   Composer
Jem Griffiths   Composer
Rachael Yamagata   Composer
Nellie McKay   Composer
Erica Driscoll   Composer
Bruce Driscoll   Composer
Matt Harris   Art Direction
Sara Bareilles   Composer
Javier Dunn   Composer
Nancy Kaye   Composer
Dana Sano   Soundtrack Executive Producer
Willie Garner   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews