Mt. Desolation

Mt. Desolation

by Mt. Desolation


'Tis the season for country-themed side projects. Just a few weeks before Mt. Desolation's release, Tired Pony -- another indie rock supergroup with rootsy inclinations -- issued their own debut. What was billed as a country album turned out to be little more than standard pop
ock, though, which makes Mt. Desolation's debut -- recorded by a loose group of British musicians, with Keane's Tim Rice-Oxley and Jesse Quin serving as co-captains -- all the more charming. The best songs here sound like genuine Americana, not pop songs dressed up in acoustic guitars and cowboy shirts, and even the filler material has a cohesion that's rare for most first-time supergroups. "The Midnight Ghost," with its barroom ambience and harmony vocals, is a woozy Western ballad that takes its cues from Patsy Cline and Loretta Lynn, while "Platform 7" -- featuring the Killers' Ronnie Vannucci on percussion -- is bar band country-rock, filled with all the twangy trimmings that the Killers attempted (with mixed results) on Sam's Town. Both of those highlights are pushed toward the back end of Mt. Desolation, and while that makes the album a tad bottom-heavy, it also means the track list doesn't lose steam as it moves into its second half. Side projects with revolving lineups often result in scattered, hit-or-miss albums, but Mt. Desolation seems to be the exception.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/19/2010
Label: Interscope Records
UPC: 0602527463254
catalogNumber: 001489202

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Mt. Desolation   Primary Artist
John Roderick   Electric Guitar,Tambourine,Background Vocals,Guitar (Tenor)
Tim Rice-Oxley   Acoustic Guitar,Percussion,Piano,Harmonium,Harpsichord,Hammond Organ,Theremin,Vocals,Melodica,Mellotron,Vibes
Ronnie Vannucci   Acoustic Guitar,Percussion
Ryann Donnelly   Background Vocals
Jesse Quin   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Harmonica,Percussion,Celeste,Glockenspiel,Electric Guitar,Hammond Organ,Vocals,Omnichord,Wurlitzer
Charity Quin   Background Vocals
Tom Hobden   Violin
Country Winston   Banjo
François Deville   Pedal Steel Guitar
Pete Roe   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Piano,Harmonium,Hammond Organ,Background Vocals,farfisa organ
Jessica Staveley-Taylor   Vocals,Background Vocals
Andrew Lowe   Electric Bass,Double Bass
Jayne Rice Oxley   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Emery Dobyns   Producer,Engineer
Jesse Quin   Tape Delays
Adam Tudhope   Management
Beth Louise Warren   Assistant Management

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews