Music to Mauzner By

Music to Mauzner By

by Spy



Music to Mauzner By displays a distinctly '90s version of dance-pop, focused on hip-hop and breakbeat plus a much wider range of inspirations compared to the house bent of its '80s predecessor. The producer Joshua Ralph sings on most tracks, and though his voice is distorted and somewhat nasal, it works to his advantage on vaguely eccentric, laid-back tracks like "Won't You Come Down" and "Leave Me Alone" or the funk-inspired "Wanderer" (all three of which are better cuts than the more obvious single "Baby"). Music to Mauzner By also recalls soul, funk, gospel, classical music and even a Mexican mariachi band at times; though that sort of dexterity is practically a requirement in dance music, here it's done with a surprising amount of class.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/23/1999
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0075678313523
catalogNumber: 83135

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Spy   Primary Artist
Emily Mitchell   Harp
Lamar Alsop   Viola
Abe Appleman   Violin
Kenny Ascher   Piano
Elena Barere   Violin
John Beal   Upright Bass
Virgil Blackwell   Clarinet
Kenneth Burward-Hoy   Viola
Carter Burwell   Conductor
Ronald Carbone   Viola
Robert Carlisle   Horn
Robert Chausow   Violin
Crispin Cioe   Saxophone
Harold Coletta   Viola
James Cox   Synthesizer,Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Vocals,Snare Drums,Walkie Talkie
Stephanie Cummins   Cello
Leonard Davis   Viola
Karen Dreyfus   Viola
Laurence Etkin   Trumpet
Barry Finclair   Violin
Robert Funk   Trombone
Kim Laskowski   Bassoon
Jeanne LeBlanc   Cello
Ann Leathers   Violin
Jesse Levine   Viola
Charles Libove   Violin,Concert Master
Richard Locker   Cello
Nancy McAlhany   Violin
John Moses   Clarinet
Eugene J. Moye   Cello
Maxine Neuman   Cello
Joe Passaro   Percussion
Paul Peabody   Violin
Charles Perry   Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Nardo Poy   Viola
Sue Pray   Viola
Stewart Rose   Horn
Dick Sarpolo   Upright Bass
Henry Schuman   Oboe
Mark Orrin Shuman   Cello
Richard Sortomme   Violin
Dean R. Taylor   Percussion
Donna Tecco   Violin
Uptown Horns   Group
Ellen Westerman   Cello
Peter Wyrick   Cello
Frederick Zlotkin   Cello
Stephen Taylor   Oboe
Joel Pitchon   Violin
Eric Wyrick   Violin
Richard Hagen   Horn
Sam Bardfeld   Violin
Will Holshouser   Accordion
Laura McGinnis   Violin
Jean Rey   Choir, Chorus
Martin Stoner   Violin
Laverne Berry   Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Lawrence Glazener   Bass
DJ Kazimir   Vocals
J. Ralph   Synthesizer,Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Snare Drums,farfisa organ,Walkie Talkie
Deena Deveaux   Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Jeff Haring   Horn,Saxophone
Amille Harris   Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Barrington Southwell   Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Nigel R. Villarurel   Bass
Earl White   Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Samona Whitley   Vocals,Choir, Chorus

Technical Credits

Carter Burwell   Arranger,Producer
James Cox   Programming
Michael Farrow   Engineer
Lovis Scalise   Producer,Engineer
Michael Robinson   Artwork
Jennifer Barbato   Artwork
Garin Baker   Illustrations
J. Ralph   Programming
Alex Weil   Producer
Joshua Ralph   Producer,Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews