My Soul

My Soul

by Leela James


$10.33 $11.99 Save 14% Current price is $10.33, Original price is $11.99. You Save 14%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 22


Let's Do It Again, a covers album released on an independent label in 2009, fared significantly better on the charts than Leela James' 2005 debut, a major-label release. One could interpret this irony as a case of a major mishandling an artist, but it's just as likely that it took a few years for word about James to spread. She's one of those R&B singers whose '70s-throwback voice belies her birth year (1983), built more for a steady career and a slowly developing fan base than overnight platinum success. Now on Stax, longtime home of Mavis Staples (one of her most evident inspirations), James finds herself in an ideal setting. My Soul is James' best yet in every way. It does not feature quite as many big-name collaborators or eye-popping elements as her debut, but the material is stronger, more balanced between vintage and contemporary sounds, and James sounds more comfortable in her voice. Just as important is that she is coming into her own as a songwriter; four of the songs were written entirely by her, and they are among the album's most affecting moments, ranging from the yearning, dropped-guard "So Cold," to the forceful "I Want It All," to the carefree "Let It Roll." Do make sure you stay until the end, through the steamy "Supa Luva" and "If It's Wrong," as well as the deadly "It's Over" ("That's why I changed the locks on my door, 'cause love don't live here no more").

Product Details

Release Date: 05/25/2010
Label: Stax
UPC: 0888072316416
catalogNumber: 31641
Rank: 74685

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Leela James   Primary Artist,Vocals,Background Vocals
Andrea Martin   Background Vocals
Tiffany Wilson   Background Vocals
Raheem DeVaughn   Vocals,Background Vocals
Johnnie "Smurf" Smith   Keyboards
George "Spanky" McCurdy   Drums
Ben Wendel   Tenor Saxophone
Mark Bowers   Bass,Guitar
Dwayne Moore   Bass
Shelby Johnson   Background Vocals
Milton Fletcher   Keyboards
Bud Wales   Tenor Saxophone
Brenda Walkin   Tenor Saxophone
Barry Wilson   Baritone Saxophone

Technical Credits

Goodman   Composer
Chris Dunn   Executive Producer
John D. Loudermilk   Composer
Andrea Martin   Composer
Sylvia Robinson   Composer
William "Mickey" Stevenson   Composer
Gordon Williams   Composer,Engineer
Deborah Mannis-Gardner   Sample Clearance
Billy Brown   Composer
Eric "Ebo" Butler   Engineer
Ray Murray   Producer,Engineer
Malik Albert   Producer,Engineer
Ivan "Orthodox" Barias   Producer,Engineer
Carvin "Ransum" Haggins   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Raheem DeVaughn   Composer
Steve "Supe" White   Producer,Engineer
Leela James   Arranger,Composer,Executive Producer,Additional Production
Kadis   Producer,Engineer
Larissa Collins   Art Direction
Kyonte Vincent   Engineer
Manerson   Executive Producer
Shelby Johnson   Composer
Sammy Friedman   Composer
Gus McKinney   Composer
Gerrard Baker   Producer
Gerald Craig Glanville   Composer
Carl "Chucky" Thompson   Producer
Billy Earl Kennedy   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews