Never, Never, Land

Never, Never, Land



When the first UNKLE full-length dropped in 1998, some electronica fans were hoping that the supergroup featuring Mo' Wax founder James Lavelle and production wunderkind DJ Shadow would become to electronic music what Radiohead had become to rock: an act with commercial clout, artistic importance, and the rapt attention of music critics everywhere. Psyence Fiction instead engaged only a small coterie of curious listeners interested in the concept of epic trip-hop -- or the parade of star collaborations. UNKLE full-length number two, Never, Never, Land, finds James Lavelle with a new conspirator, singer/songwriter Richard File, a talented writer whose blasted yet sweet vocals unfortunately recall Dirty Vegas as much as Thom Yorke. Lavelle's vision for music is still in wide focus, replete with sweeping strings, driving breakbeat passages, and tender balladry (from File) as well as raging, angsty metal (from guest vocalist Josh Homme of Queens of the Stone Age). Massive Attack's 3D gets another chance to excoriate Blair and Bush on "Invasion," while Ian Brown shambles through another guest appearance on "Reign." Lavelle's interests and themes haven't changed drastically from Psyence Fiction, and with fewer star guests (anonymous contributions from Jarvis Cocker, Brian Eno, and Graham Gouldman notwithstanding), Never, Never, Land ends up with little more to say than the U.N.K.L.E. debut. [The U.S. release, which followed a year after the British, included two bonus-track remixes.]

Product Details

Release Date: 10/26/2004
Label: U.N.K.L.E.
UPC: 0828272140121
catalogNumber: 1

Album Credits

Performance Credits

UNKLE   Primary Artist
Prime Cuts   Turntables
Graham Gouldman   Background Vocals
Jarvis Cocker   Synthesizer
Brian Eno   Synthesizer
Josh Homme   Bass,Drums,Vocals,Timpani
Natasha Shneider   Piano
Scott Shields   Bass
Robert "3D" del Naja   Vocals
Ian Brown   Vocals
Antony Genn   Synthesizer,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Piano,Electric Guitar,Keyboards,Hammond Organ,Background Vocals,Voices,Glass Harmonica,Omnichord,Waterphone
James Lavelle   Mellotron,Group Member
Luke Bullen   Drums
Chris Elliott   Conductor
Pablo Cook   Percussion
Shawn Lee   Acoustic Guitar,Drums
Martin Slattery   Hammond Organ
Patrick Byrne   Guitar,Piano,Background Vocals
Damian Taylor   Synthesizer,Bass,Voices,Glass Harmonica,Synthesizer Bass,Waterphone
Richard Flack   Synthesizer
Richard File   Synthesizer,Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Hi String,Group Member
Melissa Jaques   Background Vocals
Joel Cadbury   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Andy Peace   Drums
Philip Sheppard   Cello,Electric Cello
Richard Matthews   Glockenspiel
Psycho Pab   Synthesizer
Aiden Lavelle   Synthesizer
Rose Blake   Background Vocals
Beccy Byrne   Background Vocals
Lucy Wakeford   Harp
Jimmy Hogarth   Acoustic Guitar
Mani   Bass Guitar
Melissa Jacques   Background Vocals
Wil Malone   Conductor

Technical Credits

James Asher   Engineer
Jarvis Cocker   Sound Effects
Brian Eno   Sound Effects
Chris Goss   Remix Arrangement
Josh Homme   Remixing
Alain Johannes   Producer,Remixing
S. Morris   Composer
Gavyn Wright   Orchestra Leader
Neil Davidge   Composer,Vocal Producer
Robert "3D" del Naja   Composer,Vocal Producer,Original Paintings
B. Strong   Composer
Antony Genn   Composer,Producer,String Arrangements,Audio Production
UNKLE   Producer
James Lavelle   Composer,Sound Effects,Art Direction
Barney Bankhead   Cover Photo
Ben Drury   Art Direction,Cover Design
Chris Elliott   String Arrangements
Cameron Craig   Programming,Engineer
Damian Taylor   Programming,Engineer
Richard Flack   Programming
Jack LaVelle   Sound Effects
Richard File   Composer,Programming,Sound Effects,Audio Production
James Book   Engineer
Psycho Pab   Programming
Corey Miller   Engineer
Wil Malone   String Arrangements,String Conductor

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Never, Never, Land 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This album is full of great melodies and just great music. However, dj shadow was not involved in this recording, so it is more dance/electronic instead of trip hop like in Psyence Fiction. The best tracks are: Eye for an Eye, In a State, What are You to Me, Panic Attack, Reign, and Inside. This album is well worth the money! i bought mine at Virgin records in Orlando, Florida (the one by disney world, if your ever in orlando i highly recommend going to that Virgin store, they have EVERYTHING.)