No Strangers Here

No Strangers Here

by Ben Wolfe


$15.83 $17.99 Save 12% Current price is $15.83, Original price is $17.99. You Save 12%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 21


Bassist Ben Wolfe's resume as a sideman is extensive, having recorded with Harry Connick, Jr., Wynton Marsalis, Diana Krall, Carl Allen, and many others. But he is also a valuable leader and composer, as heard on his fifth CD. His core band includes saxophonist Marcus Strickland, pianist Luis Perdomo, and drummer Greg Hutchinson, with a number of guests appearing on select tracks. The tense "The Minnick Rule" adds trumpeter "Terell Stafford" in a performance that suggests a bustling metropolitan setting. Branford Marsalis is featured on soprano sax in the sentimental ballad "Milo" and switches to tenor for the gritty "The Filth," with a string quartet added on both songs. Both the lush ballad "No Strangers Here" and the swaggering "Jackie Mac" incorporate the string quartet as well, the latter showcasing the leader's fine solo. Bass clarinetist Victor Goines is showcased in the warm, haunting "Blue Envy." Recommended.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/20/2008
Label: Max Jazz Records
UPC: 0610614060521
catalogNumber: 605
Rank: 240079

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ben Wolfe   Primary Artist,Bass
Jeff "Tain" Watts   Drums
Victor Goines   Bass Clarinet
Gregory Hutchinson   Drums
Branford Marsalis   Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Terell Stafford   Trumpet
Luis Perdomo   Piano
Marcus Strickland   Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Wolfram Koessel   Cello
Kenji Bunch   Viola
Cyrus Beroukhim   Violin
Jesse Mills   Violin

Technical Credits

Todd Whitelock   Engineer
Ben Wolfe   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Liner Notes,Orchestration
Pressley Jacobs   Art Direction

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews