North of a Miracle [Expanded Edition]

North of a Miracle [Expanded Edition]

by Nick Heyward


One track already makes Nick Heyward's first solo LP after leaving Haircut 100 a must-hear. The breezy "Whistle Down the Wind" is among Heyward's most moving songs, a story of unrequited love with a "hello, hello, hope you're feeling fine" chorus that is both heartwarming and heartbreaking. Heyward sings the opening lines in a whispery tone, caressing the ears with the sweetness of his voice; when the tempo builds up, the track manages to simultaneously elevate and sadden the listener. "Whistle Down the Wind" is lush, hopelessly romantic pop that may have been too subtle for Top 40 radio in 1983. Although North of a Miracle doesn't strike those highs again, it's still just as charming and catchy as Heyward's finest Haircut 100 work. "When It Started to Begin" sounds a lot like Haircut 100, especially the chirpy horns, but much of North of a Miracle is more mature and introspective. "Blue Hat for a Blue Day" speaks of divorce with a deceptively cheerful beat, while the atmospheric "The Day It Rained Forever" is a wintry ballad with a palpable depth of emotion. Like the Colourfield's Virgins & Philistines, North of a Miracle doesn't seem like a '80s record; its apparent influences -- the Beatles, the Walker Brothers, jazz, R&B -- are as timeless as the album. Anybody expecting a boyish romp like Haircut 100's "Love Plus One" might be a tad startled.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/26/2010
Label: Cherry Red Uk
UPC: 5013929147423
catalogNumber: 2914742

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nick Heyward   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Harmonica,Vocals,Guitar (Electric Baritone)
Steve Nieve   Organ,Piano
Tim Renwick   Acoustic Guitar,Mandolin,Electric Guitar
Andrew Powell   Conductor
Pete Beachill   Trombone
Stuart Brooks   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Brian Gascoigne   Piano
Malcolm Griffiths   Trombone
Bill Le Sage   Bass
Tony Maronie   Percussion,Bongos
Dave Mattacks   Drums
Pino Palladino   Bass
Morris Pert   Percussion,Marimbas
Danny Schogger   Organ,Piano,Accordion,Keyboards
Chris White   Saxophone,Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Ian Laws   Guitar
Andy Brown   Bass

Technical Credits

Nick Heyward   Composer,Producer,Liner Notes,Brass Arrangment,Sleeve Notes
Andrew Powell   Adaptation,Orchestral Arrangements
Paul Buckmaster   String Arrangements
Gary Crowley   Liner Notes,Sleeve Notes
Geoff Emerick   Producer,Engineer
Stevie Wonder   Composer
Ryan Art   Reissue Design
Henry Crosby   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews