by Kyle Eastwood



Continuing in the vein of 2005's Paris Blue, bassist Kyle Eastwood delivers more contemporary jazz with a funky twist on 2006's Now. Mixing acid jazz stylings, modal themes, and some hip-hop influences on his third solo album, Eastwood has crafted yet another Euro-R&B-jazz-dance-hop album that benefits from a solid group aesthetic and a pop craftsman's sense of melody. Interestingly, vocalist Ben Cullum -- brother of pianist/vocalist Jamie Cullum -- guests here on such funky R&B-inflected cuts as "I Can't Remember" and "Leave It." Similarly intriguing is Eastwood's cover of the Police classic "Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic" featuring vocals by keyboardist Michael Stevens. It's an expansive new age-meets-techno dance track that also makes room for late-'60s Impulse-style keyboard improvisation. While Now is by no means a straight-ahead jazz album and will most likely appeal to the broader smooth jazz audience, it is nonetheless a vibrant, genre-crossing experiment and once again displays Eastwood's deft knack for bringing together topnotch musicians with sophisticated club-ready material.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/10/2006
Label: Rendezvous
UPC: 0881284512126
catalogNumber: 5121

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Kyle Eastwood   Primary Artist,Electric Bass,Vocals,Acoustic Bass
John Beasley   Piano,fender rhodes
Manu Katché   Drums
Ralph Salmins   Drums
Doug Webb   Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Alex Wurman   Keyboards
Michael Stevens   Guitar,Electric Bass,Drums,Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals
Graeme Flowers   Trumpet
Ben Cullum   Vocals
Dave O'Higgins   Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Andrew McCormack   Piano,Electric Piano

Technical Credits

Sting   Composer
Dave Koz   Executive Producer
Kyle Eastwood   Composer,Producer
John Gallen   Engineer
Hyman Katz   Executive Producer
Ron Moss   Management
David O'Higgins   Composer
Ralph Salmins   Composer,Engineer
Michael Stevens   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Vincent Bruley   Engineer
Frank Cody   Executive Producer
Graeme Flowers   Composer
Ben Cullum   Composer
Renzo Mantovani   Producer
Dimitri Smilenko   Artwork

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews