One on One

One on One

by Phyllis Hyman



Phyllis Hyman was a jazz-soul-pop diva of the highest order in the 1970s and '80s but much of her finest work was as a guest artist, working in collaboration with others in different settings. In these environments, Hyman could outright shine even more than her solo work normally revealed. This 12-track collection brings together three of her earliest solo sides (the long version of "Leavin' the Good Life Behind" featuring the famous 'Tom Moulton Mix', "Baby [I'm Gonna Love You]" and "Do Me") and nine collaborations with various artist of different musical stripes. Highlights include "Love Is Here" and "As You Are" with Pharaoh Sanders, "Take the 'A' Train" with Gregory Hines, "Maybe Tomorrow" with the Four Tops, the heavily synthesized "The Survivor" with Joe Sample and two tracks with Norman Connors, "Remember Who You Are" and a charming cover of "Betcha By Golly Wow." This makes a nice bookend to the other reissues documenting her work for Philly International, Arista and Buddah.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/14/1998
Label: Hip-O Records
UPC: 0076744008428
catalogNumber: 40084

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Phyllis Hyman   Primary Artist,Vocals
Four Tops   Track Performer
Gregory Hines   Track Performer
Gary Bartz   Alto Saxophone
John Blake   Violin
Hiram Bullock   Guitar
Bill Easley   Clarinet,Saxophone
Mercer Ellington   Conductor
Bobby Lyle   Keyboards
Najee   Soprano Saxophone
Joe Sample   Piano,Track Performer
Lonnie Liston Smith   Keyboards,Track Performer
Onaje Allan Gumbs   Harp,Electric Piano
Lloyd Mayers   Piano
Joe Temperley   Clarinet,Saxophone
Lenny White   Drums
Noel Pointer   Violin
Terry Burrus   Keyboards
David T. Walker   Hawaiian Guitar
Kenneth Nash   Percussion
Sharon Redd   Background Vocals
Norris Turney   Clarinet,Saxophone
Britt Woodman   Trombone
Don Alias   Percussion
Tasha Thomas   Background Vocals
Kamau Adilifu   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Art Baron   Trombone
Alex Blake   Bass
Charles Veal   Conductor,Concert Master
Neil Clarke   Percussion
Norman Connors   Percussion,Drums,Timbales,Track Performer
David Ervin   Synthesizer
Charles Fearing   Guitar
Steve Ferrone   Drums
Eric Gale   Guitar
Dean Gant   Synthesizer,Piano
Doc Powell   Guitar
Anthony Jackson   Bass
Munyungo Jackson   Percussion
Neil Jason   Bass
Terri Klausner   Track Performer
Rhett Lawrence   Synthesizer
Lloyd Michels   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Khalid Moss   Keyboards
Sidney Muldrow   French Horn
Dean Parks   Guitar
Jerry Peters   Piano
Raymond Lee Pounds   Drums
Richard Pratt   Drums
Vincent Prudente   Trombone
Bernard "Pretty" Purdie   Drums
Pharoah Sanders   Percussion,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Track Performer
Evan Solot   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Maretha Stewart   Background Vocals
Levi Stubbs   Vocals
Richard Tee   Piano
Waters   Background Vocals,Ensemble
Ernie Watts   Flute
Wah-Wah Watson   Guitar
Vincent DeRosa   French Horn
Charles Connors   Trombone
Harold "Geezil" Minerve   Clarinet,Saxophone
Charlie Simons   Percussion
Rudy Stevenson   Banjo,Guitar
Art Webb   Flute
Mike Baker   Drums
"Ready" Freddie Washington   Bass
Dominick Fiore   Bass,Tuba
Sidney Sharp   Concert Master
John Longo   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Rocky White   Percussion
Ron Richardson   Bass
David A. Young   Saxophone
Albert Richmond   French Horn
David Young   Clarinet

Technical Credits

Joe Sample   Producer
Lonnie Liston Smith   Contributor
Onaje Allan Gumbs   Arranger
Lloyd Mayers   Arranger
Terry Burrus   Arranger,Producer,drum programming
Leon "Ndugu" Chancler   Producer,drum machine
Norman Connors   Producer
Skip Drinkwater   Producer
David Ervin   Arranger
Wilton Felder   Producer
McKinley Jackson   Arranger
George Kerr   Producer
Bert Keyes   Arranger
Jerry Peters   Arranger
Paul Riser   Arranger
Paul Santos   Art Direction
Jerry Schoenbaum   Producer
Louis Silas   Remixing
A. Scott Galloway   Liner Notes
Malcolm Dodds   Arranger
Andrew Smith   Arranger

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews