Only Built 4 Cuban Linx, Pt. 2

Only Built 4 Cuban Linx, Pt. 2

by Raekwon


$16.70 $18.99 Save 12% Current price is $16.7, Original price is $18.99. You Save 12%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 23


Like the original, Only Built 4 Cuban Linx, Pt. 2 sets the stage with the intro, but here it's some Raekwon history courtesy of Papa Wu. On Pt. 1 it was fictional dialog introducing a loose concept album. Besides the introductory dialog and the album's look-alike cover -- tinted purple, as if it were a Cash Money screwed & chopped mix of Pt. 1 -- the only traits this sequel shares with the original Linx is that it's the Wu rapper in top form, spitting out rhymes worthy of the Wu logo and pushing his guest list to work harder, as evidenced by Ghostface, Jadakiss, and Cappadonna all sounding at the top of their game. The productions are equally magnificent, with Pete Rock, the Alchemist, and even Dr. Dre all living up to their lofty reputations. Inspectah Deck and Wu secret weapon Mathematics out-RZA the RZA on their 36 Chambers-flavored cuts -- the awesome "House of Flying Daggers" and "Mean Streets," respectively -- but if it's possible to create a poignant beat track, it has to be the soulful loop on "Ason Jones," a tribute to Ol' Dirty Bastard made all the more moving when you notice the beat comes from the late J Dilla. Raekwon's lyrical highlights come back to back as "Gihad" slaps the current rap scene for all it's worth while "New Wu," with Ghostface, Method Man, and RZA on production, renews hope that the Wu-Tang dynasty will return with a vengeance. If it looks long at 22 tracks, it'll still leave the Wu heads wanting more. This sequel may have little to do with the original, but if the title helps to point out this is the Shaolin poet's best work since 1995's Pt. 1, then so be it. [Only Built 4 Cuban Linx, Pt. 2 was also released in a clean version with explicit content removed.]

Product Details

Release Date: 09/08/2009
Label: Ice H20 (Ice Water)
UPC: 5099996879320
catalogNumber: 68793
Rank: 95844

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Raekwon   Primary Artist
Mark Batson   Keyboards
Che Pope   Keyboards
Sean Cruse   Bass
Dawaun Parker   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Mel Carter   Executive Producer
Marley Marl   Producer
RZA   Producer,Executive Producer
Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth   Producer
M. Williams   Composer
Raekwon   Executive Producer
Mark Batson   Producer
Pete Rock   Producer
C. Smith   Composer
Mauricio "Veto" Irragorri   Engineer
Scram Jones   Producer,Engineer
Allah Mathematics   Producer
D. Styles   Composer
M. Shemer   Composer
C. Woods   Composer
R. Walters   Composer
J. Yancy   Composer
J. Hunter   Composer
J. Phillips   Composer
P. Phillips   Composer
R. Diggs   Composer
G. Grice   Composer
E. Turner   Composer
D. Grant   Composer
D. Coles   Composer
Alan "The Alchemist" D. Maman   Composer
James Yancey   Composer
Trevor Smith   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews