Only Human

Only Human

by Jeffrey Osborne


After such George Duke-produced R&B/pop hits on A&M as "On the Wings of Love" and "The Borderlines," Jeffrey Osborne's Arista debut, Only Human, was a return to more R&B-oriented material. Wisely, the LP's first single showcased Osborne's special way with a ballad. Produced by Barry J. Eastmond (Freddie Jackson), the halting, dusky "Only Human" was a Top Three R&B smash in late 1990. The singer shows his social consciousness side on the chugging "If My Brother's in Trouble," which was produced by Shep Pettibone and made it to number 11 R&B in the spring of 1991. The Osborne co-written ballad "The Morning After I Made Love to You" (also produced by Eastmond) at times generates the kind of shivers generated by some of his classics with L.T.D.. It was the album's third hit single, going to number 24 in the summer of 1991. There are successful flirtations with hip-hop on "Baby Wait a Minute" and a cover of the Roberta Flack hit "Feel Like Making Love" co-produced by Robert Brookins. While it could be argued that Osborne's A&M albums were generally "too pop", he seems absolutely regenerated on Only Human, digging his vocal chops into material that accommodates his extensive range. It's a head-scratcher as to why this is his only Arista release (one of his other sides for the label was the tasty Dionne Warwick duet "Love Power"); it would have been very interesting to hear Osborne continue in this mode. Some of the album's tracks are on the Hip-O CDs Love Songs, Ultimate Collection, and More of My Best.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/07/2004
Label: Bmg Special Product
UPC: 0755174893322
catalogNumber: 148933

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jeffrey Osborne   Primary Artist,Vocals,Background Vocals
Vincent Henry   Alto Saxophone
Terry Burrus   Keyboards
Nicki Richards   Background Vocals
Mike Campbell   Guitar
B.J. Nelson   Background Vocals
Tawatha Agee   Background Vocals
Karen Anderson   Background Vocals
Robert Brookins   Keyboards
Alex Brown   Background Vocals
Joey Diggs   Background Vocals
Daryll Duncan   Voices,Multi Instruments
Barry J. Eastmond   Synthesizer,Strings,Conductor,Drums,Keyboards
Bright Eyes   Rap
Lynn Fiddmont   Background Vocals
Portia Griffin   Background Vocals
Richard Henrickson   Concert Master
Anthony Jackson   Bass
Marlena Jeter   Background Vocals
Yolanda Lee   Background Vocals
Cydne Monet   Background Vocals
Nick Moroch   Guitar
Eric Rehl   Synthesizer
Katherine Russell   Background Vocals
Ken Scott   Keyboards
Terry Silverlight   Drums
Sam Sims   Bass
Ron Skies   Synthesizer
Dian Sorel   Background Vocals
Grover Washington   Alto Saxophone
Washington   Alto Saxophone
Lillias White   Background Vocals
Buddy Williams   Drums
Edith Wint   Strings
Georg "Jojje" Wadenius   Guitar
Dennis Collins   Background Vocals
Keith John   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Carl Beatty   Engineer
Robert Brookins   Programming,Producer
Earl Cohen   Engineer
Daddy-O   Arranger,Producer
Daryll Duncan   Producer
Barry J. Eastmond   Arranger,Programming,Producer,Engineer,String Arrangements,drum programming
Alan Friedman   Programming
P. Dennis Mitchell   Engineer
Jeffrey Osborne   Arranger,Producer
Shep Pettibone   Producer
Eric Rehl   Programming
Ken Scott   Producer
Ron Skies   Programming
Washington   Contributor
Edith Wint   String Contractor
John McClain   Liner Notes
Cecille Parker   Wardrobe Design
Dave Lebowitz   Engineer
Rudy Calvo   grooming
Mike Harlow   Engineer
Carolyn Quan   Art Direction
Boson   Vocal Arrangements
Khaliq-O-Vision   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews