Oscar Wilde: Collected Works (Library of Essential Writers Series)

Oscar Wilde: Collected Works (Library of Essential Writers Series)


View All Available Formats & Editions


A pivotal figure in nineteenth-century literature, Oscar Wilde was an energetic and multifaceted writer. His large and diverse body of work includes masterpieces of wit such as the plays "The Importance of Being Earnest" and "An Ideal Husband," The seminal novel The Picture of Dorian Gray, well-crafted short stories and fairy tales, critical essays that changed how the world looks at art and literature, impassioned poetry, and the moving confessional memoir "De Profundis."

This literary omnibus gathers into a single volume all of Wilde's fiction, drama, poetry, and essays.

Oscar Wilde: Collected Works is part of Barnes & Noble's Library of Essential Writers. Each title in the series presents the finest works - complete and unabridged - from one of the greatest writers in literature in magnificent, elegantly designed hard-back editions. Every volume also includes an original introduction that provides the reader with enlightening information on the writer's life and works.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780760783108
Publisher: Sterling Publishing
Publication date: 09/25/2006
Series: Library of Essential Writers Series
Pages: 1417
Product dimensions: 6.80(w) x 10.16(h) x 2.57(d)

About the Author

The ever-quotable Oscar Wilde (1854-1900) was an Irish playwright, novelist, essayist, and poet who delighted Victorian England with his legendary wit. He found critical and popular success with his scintillating plays, chiefly The Importance of Being Earnest, while his only novel, The Picture of Dorian Gray, scandalized readers. Imprisoned for two years for homosexual behavior, Wilde moved to France after his release, where he died destitute.

Date of Birth:

October 16, 1854

Date of Death:

November 30, 1900

Place of Birth:

Dublin, Ireland

Place of Death:

Paris, France


The Royal School in Enniskillen, Dublin, 1864; Trinity College, Dublin, 1871; Magdalen College, Oxford, England, 1874

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Oscar Wilde: Collected Works (Library of Essential Writers Series) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Truly a stimulating read...It definately pushing the mental envelope of concepts. Nearly redefines the way one percieves ego and reputation, as well as morality and writeness. Each character seems to be an embodiment of a different facet of ones ego.