Paradigm Shift

Paradigm Shift

by Korn


$11.79 $13.99 Save 16% Current price is $11.79, Original price is $13.99. You Save 16%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 23


While their last album, the dubstep-drenched Path of Totality, felt like a real change in the way Korn did things, The Paradigm Shift finds the nu-metal pioneers once again changing things up on their 11th studio album. Returning to a more traditional sound, the album finds the band pushing the electronics back to a supporting role while putting the guitars up in the spotlight. Most notably, though, is the return of former guitarist Brian "Head" Welch, whose last appearance on a Korn record was a decade ago on Look in the Mirror. The renewed partnership between Head and Munky is one that pays off, but not in the way longtime fans might expect. Rather than making a full-on return to the sort of guttural, shuddering sound the band made famous in the '90s, The Paradigm Shift is a much more driving and direct album. Replacing the sort of creeping, churning aggression that emanated from their earlier work is a newfound vigor. This makes for a refreshing change of pace from the band, who have been on a real hot streak when it comes to experimenting with their sound. And even though The Paradigm Shift might not be the album that listeners might expect after a reunion with Head, it shows the kind of creativity and inventiveness that, love them or hate them, helped to make them an influential force in heavy music. This capacity for change is what has helped Korn to make it this far, and it's a quality that will probably see them continue to flourish as time goes on. [A clean version of the album was also released.]

Product Details

Release Date: 10/08/2013
Label: Prospect Park
UPC: 0813985011424
catalogNumber: 501142
Rank: 55021

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Korn   Primary Artist
Jonathan Davis   Keyboards,Vocals
Ray Luzier   Drums
Brian Welch   Guitar
James "Munky" Shaffer   Guitar
Sluggo   Keyboards
Zac Baird   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Reginald Arvizu   Bass
Zaylien   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Jonathan Davis   Programming
Don Gilmore   Composer,Producer
Korn   Composer
Scott Sheppard   Road Crew
Peter Katsis   Management
Sluggo   Composer,Programming
Jeff Kwatinetz   Management
Mark Kiczula   Engineer
Zac Baird   Programming
Trevor Niemann   Package Layout
Jasen Rauch   Composer,Programming,Engineer,Additional Production
Jason Bullock   Road Crew
Sebastien Paquet   Road Crew
Marko Vujovic   Road Crew
Nightwatch   Composer,Producer
Pablo Silva   Road Crew
Eoghan Tansey   Road Crew
Roboto   Cover Design
Jim Otel   Road Crew
Jens Geiger   Road Crew
Gary "JR" Bareis   Road Crew
Enrico Giorgetta   Photo Assistance
Zaylien   Programming
Toi Russell   Road Crew
Stew Wilson   Road Crew
Serena De Angelis   Photo Assistance
Michael "Sleep" Williamson   Road Crew

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews