Paul Jabara & Friends

Paul Jabara & Friends

by Paul Jabara



Best known for writing the Donna Summer hit "Last Dance" and the Summer/Barbra Streisand duet "Enough Is Enough (No More Tears)," Paul Jabara also released an album in 1983 which helped introduce a virtually unknown singer named Whitney Houston. Paul Jabara and Friends also features Leata Galloway and the Weather Girls, but it is Houston's appearance which guarantees the album's significance as a musical footnote. The augmentation of the Jabara-penned club anthem "It's Raining Men" doesn't hurt either, although that song can be found on several superior dance compilations, as well as the Weather Girls' autonomous releases. Houston's rendition of the majestic "Eternal Love" is refreshingly unaffected, showcasing her precocious voice before multi-platinum diva status fueled her inclination toward egotistical histrionics. In fact, if anyone on this album can be accused of exaggerated vocalizing, it's Jabara himself, who sounds like a hoarse drag queen on the excruciating "Bad Habits." Thankfully, it's his only stint as lead vocalist. In addition to composing dramatic disco, Jabara's greatest strength is networking, as evidenced by his songwriting collaboration with Diana Ross entitled "Ladies Hot Line" (also sung by the Weather Girls). It's unfortunate he didn't have enough good material for everyone, because even Galloway's theatrical flair cannot enliven the inferior filler. Jabara deserves credit for promoting aspiring talents, but Paul Jabara and Friends is more of a hodgepodge than a comprehensive album. As such, it remains most interesting for fans of the "friends" rather than the titular headliner.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/11/1993
Label: Sony
UPC: 0074643845823
catalogNumber: 38458

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Paul Jabara   Primary Artist,Vocals
Deniece Williams   Background Vocals
Patti Austin   Background Vocals
Whitney Houston   Vocals
Weather Girls   Vocals
Greg Mathieson   Piano,Keyboards
Keith Forsey   Drums
Jimmy Maelen   Percussion
Martha Wash   Vocals
Leata Galloway   Vocals
Paul Shaffer   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Izora Armstead   Vocals
Paul Delph   Synthesizer
Bob Esty   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Lani Groves   Background Vocals
Hurdle   Bass
Neil Jason   Bass
Michael Landau   Guitar
Yvonne Lewis   Background Vocals
Marcus Miller   Electric Bass,Bass Guitar
Leon Pendarvis   Keyboards
Julia Tillman Waters   Background Vocals
David Spinozza   Guitar
Stephanie Spruill   Background Vocals
Maggie Swank   Background Vocals
Carlos Vega   Drums
Marty Walsh   Guitar
Maxine Willard Waters   Background Vocals
Millie Whiteside   Background Vocals
Buddy Williams   Drums
Zenobia   Background Vocals
Leland Sklar   Bass
High-Heeled Women   Vocals,Background Vocals
Veda Solomon   Background Vocals
Georg "Jojje" Wadenius   Guitar

Technical Credits

Greg Mathieson   Arranger
Paul Jabara   Arranger,Producer
Bob Esty   Arranger,Producer
Charles Koppelman   Executive Producer
Leon Pendarvis   Arranger
Jerry Solomon   Engineer
Randy Tominaga   Engineer
Michael Goldberg   Creative Assistance
Michael Childers   Cover Photo
Judy McCarthy   Contributor
Elizabeth Marshall   Cover Photo
David Kennedy   Cover Photo

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews