by Galantis



Side projects shouldn't be this good but Galantis -- featuring Christian Karlsson of Miike Snow and Linus Eklöw from Style of Eye -- are excellent on Pharmacy, a vibrant debut LP that's bright, attractive, and oozing with earworms. EDM is the main category header with bass drops and dramatic buildups in plentiful supply, but Karlsson and Eklöw are pop or alt-pop songwriters at heart, always up for a clever turn of phrase and offering genuine uplift that will survive all the uploaded acoustic cover versions yet to come. "Forever Tonight" and "Runaway (U & I)" are the best examples, with messages and moods that could stand tall without all the slick production. As icing on the cake goes, the beatmaking and studio wizardry here are delicious, falling somewhere between a Disclosure-sized "wow" and an Empire of the Sun sense of what suits the song. Cheeseball words like "glisten" and "love" fill progressive house numbers that are weighty enough to balance them, then "Dancin' to the Sound of a Broken Heart" gives the more goth-minded listeners a shoutout with some moody minor chords. Top it all off with "Peanut Butter Jelly" (not the similarly named booty song but a way cool blast of neo-disco) and Pharmacy is a fantastic and instantly gripping effort, one that brings reminders of first encounters with acts like the Chemical Brothers, Daft Punk, and Basement Jaxx.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/08/2015
Label: Big Beat / Wea
UPC: 0075678671173
catalogNumber: 546119

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Galantis   Primary Artist,Bass,Percussion,Drums,Horn,Keyboards
Cathy Dennis   Vocals
Andrew Jackson   Vocals
Stephen Simmonds   Vocals
Martina Sorbara   Vocals
Henrik Jonback   Piano
Vincent Pontare   Vocals,Background Vocals
Leon Jean-Marie   Vocals
Christian Karlsson   Vocals
Linus Eklow   Vocals
Magnus Lidehäll   Piano
Coco Morier   Vocals
Julia Karlsson   Vocals
Jenn Decilveo   Vocals
Blackbear   Vocals

Technical Credits

Cathy Dennis   Composer
Andrew Jackson   Composer
Tim Gordon   Composer
Tim Gordine   Vocal Engineer,Vocal Producer
Nicole Morier   Composer
Henrik Jonback   Composer
Mat Maitland   Art Direction,Images
Vincent Pontare   Composer,Vocal Producer
Leon Jean-Marie   Composer
Christian Karlsson   Composer
Linus Eklow   Composer
Phillip Hurtt   Composer
Carli Löf   Composer
Marc Van Oosterbaan   Composer
Michiel Jenner   Composer
Ivo De Jong   Composer
Galantis   Arranger,Producer,Vocal Producer,Instrumentation
Julia Karlsson   Composer
Jimmy Koitzsch   Composer,Producer,drum programming,Vocal Producer
Jenn Decilveo   Composer
Anton Rundberg   Composer,Programming

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews