Pictures at Eleven [Bonus Tracks]

Pictures at Eleven [Bonus Tracks]

by Robert Plant

CD(Remastered / Bonus Tracks)

View All Available Formats & Editions


For his debut solo album, Robert Plant doesn't exactly succumb to everyone's expectations. With a less-potent vocal style, Plant manages to carry out most of the songs in smooth, stylish fashion while rocking out rather convincingly on a couple of others. He gets some pretty good help from guitarist Robbie Blunt, who truly comes to life on "Worse Than Detroit," and both Phil Collins and Cozy Powell give Plant enough of a solid background to lean his sultry yet surging rock voice against. Plant channels his energy quite effectively through songs like "Pledge Pin" and "Moonlight in Samosa," while the single "Burning Down One Side" is a creditable one, even though it failed to crack the Top 50 in either the U.K. and the U.S. The most apparent characteristic about the album's eight tracks is the fact that Plant is able to escape most of his past and still sound motivated. Without depending too much on his Led Zeppelin days, he courses a new direction without changing or disguising his distinct vocal style whatsoever. Pictures at Eleven peaked within the Top Five on both sides of the Atlantic, successfully launching Plant's solo career. [The 2007 reissue adds two bonus tracks including a live version of "Like I've Never Been Gone" that has Phill Collins on drums.]

Product Details

Release Date: 03/20/2007
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227415822
catalogNumber: 74158

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews