Platinum & Gold Collection

Platinum & Gold Collection

by Jerry Lee Lewis


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 29


The only bad thing that can be said about BMG Heritage's 2004 compilation Platinum & Gold Collection is that it may be a little bit too predictable, sticking to the most familiar of Jerry Lee Lewis' seminal singles for Sun during the '50s, including the timeless hits "Whole Lotta Shakin' Going On," "Great Balls of Fire," "Breathless," "You Win Again," "Crazy Arms," "High School Confidential," and "It'll Be Me." Then again, any Sun collection that doesn't contain those singles could not hope to be a good sampler or introduction, which the 12-track budget-line collection Platinum & Gold is. By pairing those hits with such excellent non-hit Sun sides as "Big Legged Woman," "Real Wild Child (Wild One)," and "Lovin' Up a Storm," this not only satisfies the needs of a casual fan, but it gives an indication of the depth of Jerry Lee's work for the label and how consistently satisfying it is. Sure, there are other great tracks that could have been here, such as "Break-Up" or "Down the Line," but everything here is excellent. Sure, there are other compilations that are longer and more comprehensive -- Rhino's 1994 18 Original Sun Greatest Hits remains the best overview -- but as a budget-line compilation, this is first-rate and a good introduction to one of the giants of American music of the 20th century.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/13/2004
Label: Rca
UPC: 0828765771627
catalogNumber: 57716
Rank: 208029

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jerry Lee Lewis   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Jerry Lee Lewis   Composer
James Williams   Composer
Otis Blackwell   Composer
Jack Clement   Composer
Sunny David   Composer
Jack Hammer   Composer
Ralph Mooney   Composer
David Owens   Composer
Hank Williams   Composer
Dave Williams   Composer
Luther Dixon   Composer
John Greenham   Composer
Mathieu Bitton   Art Direction
Chuck Seals   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Allyson R. Khent   Composer
Ron Hargrave   Composer
Johnny O'Keefe   Composer
Scott Schinder   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews