Postwar Recordings 1944-1953

Postwar Recordings 1944-1953

by Django Reinhardt


$24.98 $28.99 Save 14% Current price is $24.98, Original price is $28.99. You Save 14%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24


Postwar Recordings 1944-1953 contains 106 tracks, spread out over five CDs, tracing the complete postwar recordings of Gypsy guitarist Django Reinhardt. These sides highlight the guitarist's later stages of development, embracing bebop and the electric guitar. Reinhardt is also reunited with violinist Stéphane Grappelli, picking up where they left off before the war. By the fifth disc it's apparent Reinhardt was evolving, becoming fatigued with maintaining, exclusively, the prewar music that he created with Grappelli and the Quintette du Hot Club de France. Unfortunately, Reinhardt died before the next stage of his musical transformation was complete, leaving the listener wondering what might have been. Alongside the aforementioned Grappelli are performances featuring such noteworthy musicians as pianist Mel Powell, Ellington trumpeter/cornetist Rex Stewart, drummer Ray McKinley, clarinetist Peanuts Hucko, and Grappelli's replacement in the Hot Club, Hubert Rostaing. As always, JSP does an admirable job remastering the tracks, providing recording dates and detailed liner notes, and separating the discs into specific years.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/24/2009
Label: Jsp Records
UPC: 0788065905521
catalogNumber: 955
Rank: 79118


Disc 1

  1. Welcome, Pt. 1
  2. Welcome, Pt. 2
  3. I Can't Give You Anything But Love
  4. Artillerie Lourde
  5. How High the Moon
  6. If Dreams Come True
  7. Hallelujah
  8. Stompin' at the Savoy
  9. Djangology
  10. Swing Guitars
  11. Manoir de Mes Reves
  12. Are You in the Mood?
  13. Coquette
  14. Django's Tiger
  15. Embraceable You
  16. Echoes of France
  17. Love's Melody
  18. Belleville
  19. Nuages
  20. Liza
  21. Swingtime in Springtime
  22. Yours and Mine
  23. On the Sunny Side of the Street
  24. I Won't Dance

Disc 2

  1. R-Vingt-Six
  2. How High the Moon
  3. Lover Man
  4. Blue Lou
  5. Blues
  6. Minor Blues
  7. Clair de Lune
  8. Peche a La Mouche
  9. Lentement, Madamoiselle
  10. Melodie au Crepescule
  11. Porto Cabello
  12. Duke and Dukie
  13. Songe d'Automne
  14. Babik (Bi-Bop)
  15. Del Salle
  16. Just One of Those Things
  17. For Sentimental Reasons
  18. Danse Norvegienne
  19. Blues for Barclay
  20. Folie a Amphion
  21. Vette
  22. Anniversay Song
  23. Swing 48

Disc 3

  1. September Song
  2. Brazil
  3. I'll Never Smile Again
  4. New York City
  5. Django's Blues
  6. Love's Mood
  7. I Love You
  8. Topsy
  9. Moppin' the Bride
  10. Insensiblement
  11. Mano
  12. Blues Primitif
  13. Gipsy with a Song, Pt. 1
  14. Gipsy with a Song, Pt. 2
  15. What Is This Thing Called Love?
  16. Ol' Man River
  17. Si Tu Savais
  18. Eveline
  19. Diminushing
  20. Night and Day
  21. Confessin'

Disc 4

  1. Mike
  2. Oh, Lady Be Good
  3. Festival 48
  4. Fantasie
  5. Bricktop
  6. Just for Fun
  7. To Each His Own/Symphonie
  8. Belleville/Nuagesute de Bonheur]
  9. Double Whiskey
  10. Dream of You
  11. Impromptu
  12. Vamp
  13. Keep Cool
  14. Fleche d'Or
  15. Troublant Bolero
  16. Nuits de Saint-Germain-Des-Pres
  17. Crazy Rhythm
  18. Anouman
  19. D R Blues
  20. Fine and Dandy

Disc 5

  1. Blues for Ike
  2. September Song
  3. Night and Day
  4. Insensiblement
  5. Manoir de Mes Reves
  6. Nuages
  7. Brazil
  8. Confessin'
  9. Le Soir
  10. Chez Moi
  11. I Cover the Waterfront
  12. Deccaphonie
  13. Nuages
  14. Duke and Dukie
  15. Babik (Bi-Bop)
  16. Del Salle
  17. Blues for Barclay
  18. I'll Never Smile Again

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Django Reinhardt   Primary Artist,Guitar,Soloist
John Kirkpatrick   Trombone
Stéphane Grappelli   Piano,Violin
Pierre Michelot   Bass
Mel Powell   Piano
Martial Solal   Piano
Rex Stewart   Trumpet
Raymond Fol   Alto Saxophone
Peanuts Hucko   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Ray McKinley   Drums
Don Gardner   Trombone
Christian Bellest   Trumpet
Alex Caturegli   Trumpet
Bill Decker   Trombone
Jacques Diéval   Piano
Hubert Fol   Alto Saxophone
Pierre Fouad   Drums
Coleridge Goode   Bass
Roger Guerin   Trumpet
Bernard Hullin   Trumpet
Pierre Lemarchand   Drums
Gerard Leveque   Clarinet
Jack Llewelyn   Guitar
Jerry Mengo   Drums
Arthur Motta   Drums
Bernie Privin   Trumpet
Yves Raynal   Baritone Saxophone
Hubert Rostaing   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Lucien Simoens   Bass
Emmanuel Soudieux   Bass,Drums
Jerry Stephan   Trumpet
Jean-Louis Viale   Drums
Maurice Vander   Piano
Eugene Vees   Guitar
B Zickefoose   Tenor Saxophone
Barney Spieler   Bass
Fred Ermelin   Drums
Don Gardner & Dee Dee Ford   Trombone
Michel de Villers   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Jean Ferret   Guitar
Robin Gould   Trumpet
Joseph Reinhardt   Guitar
Ladislas Czabanyck   Bass
André Jourdan   Drums
Lonnie Wilflong   Trumpet
Larry Mann   Piano
Léo Chauliac   Piano
Craig   Drums
André Lafosse   Trombone
Jo Boyer   Trumpet
Robert Decker   Bass
Jim Hayes   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Eddie Bernard   Piano
Ted Curry   Drums
Louis Menardi   Trumpet
Herb Bass   Trumpet
Bill Bethel   Drums
Vincent Casino   Trumpet
Shelton Heath   Trombone
Pierre Rémy Librecht   Trombone
Librecht   Trombone
Lennie Wilfong   Trumpet
Jean Ferret   Guitar
J.C. Fohrenbach   Tenor Saxophone
Pierre Remy   Trombone
Roger Hubert   Trumpet
''Fats'' Sali Lallemand   Vibes
Allan Hodgkiss   Guitar
Yves Raynal   Baritone Saxophone
Bill Zickefoose   Tenor Saxophone
Joe Moser   Alto Saxophone
Bernie Cavaliere   Tenor Saxophone
Ken Lowther   Baritone Saxophone
Craig   Drums
Jack Llewellyn   Guitar
Andre LaFosse   Trombone

Technical Credits

Jack Platt   Director
Drew Kent   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews