Pretty Blue

Pretty Blue

by Wes Montgomery


$13.54 $14.99 Save 10% Current price is $13.54, Original price is $14.99. You Save 10%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, September 20


Wes Montgomery accomplished something few jazz artists could, as he used the disparate elements of the orchestral string ensemble and small organ combo within a similar balladic approach. While one could contend these concepts may not be as effective as a more conventional configuration, Montgomery made them work to a certain extent. What he could not do was infuse an energy that transcends the ballad approach, making this style of jazz priceless. There's a certain lugubrious restraint that permeates this single CD, originally a two-fer on vinyl, that showcases the guitarist's first recordings with strings, and selections plucked from his most ramped down organ combo featuring Melvin Rhyne. The 12 selections with a 12-piece string ensemble (conducted and arranged by Jimmy Jones) plus woodwinds and his rhythm section cover standards, a lone original, a Miles Davis and a Duke Ellington composition reissued from the 1963 Riverside LP Fusion! There's no forward motion or groove whatsoever, it's all ballads and an emphasis on diffidence, with the strings submerging Montgomery's guitar for the most part. The wintry sparkle of the title cut and intro of "Prelude to a Kiss" brightens the otherwise sleepy mood and does indeed complement Montgomery. Two takes of "God Bless the Child" are weakly interpreted, while the strings clash with the easy swing of the otherwise bop icon "Tune Up." An occasional oboe or clarinet turns jazz ballads chamber-like, but literally smothers the music, and only on "My Romance" and "Somewhere" does honest emotionalism emerge. For the sessions with master organist Rhyne, it's all ballads and no soul-jazz as one might expect, save a sprightly bossa nova take on "Canadian Sunset" and a relaxed swing for Benny Golson's "Whisper Not." There's a slight spooky feeling on "'Round Midnight," where otherwise Montgomery matches the serenity Rhyne evokes on these nine standards taken from three different trio recordings for Riverside in 1959 and 1963. Where Montgomery's more distinctly commercial work would follow these sessions, what this album represents is an easy listening prelude that would shape the guitarist's path, for better or worse depending on your perspective.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/25/2007
Label: Milestone
UPC: 0888072470309
catalogNumber: 47030
Rank: 76857

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Wes Montgomery   Primary Artist,Guitar
Phil Bodner   Woodwind
Dick Hyman   Piano
Hank Jones   Piano
Melvin Rhyne   Organ
David Nadien   Violin
Jimmy Cobb   Drums
Gloria Agostini   Harp
Alfred Brown   Viola
George "Funky" Brown   Drums
Kenny Burrell   Guitar
Mac Ceppos   Violin
Winston Collymore   Violin
Arnold Eidus   Violin
Burt Fisch   Viola
Harry Lookofsky   Violin
Milt Hinton   Bass
Isadore Zir   Violin
Osie Johnson   Drums
Jimmy Jones   Conductor
Leo Kruczek   Violin
Charles McCracken   Cello
Kermit Moore   Cello
Gene Orloff   Concert Master
Raoul Poliakin   Violin
Samuel Rand   Violin
George Ricci   Cello
Lucien Schmit   Cello
Sylvan Shulman   Violin
Ralph Hersh   Viola
Paul Winter Consort   Violin
Margaret Rose   Harp
Paul Parker   Drums

Technical Credits

Leonard Bernstein   Composer
Stephen Sondheim   Composer
Miles Davis   Composer
Wes Montgomery   Composer
Richard Rodgers   Composer
Sammy Cahn   Composer
Duke Ellington   Composer
Ray Fowler   Engineer
Benny Golson   Composer
Lorenz Hart   Composer
Jack Higgins   Engineer
Jimmy Jones   Orchestral Arrangements
Orrin Keepnews   Producer
Thelonious Monk   Composer
James Van Heusen   Composer
Phil Carroll   Art Direction
J.R. Taylor   Liner Notes
Lee Tanner   Cover Photo
Charles DeForest   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews