Principles of Peace Finney's Lessons on Romans Volume II Expanded E-Book Edition

Principles of Peace Finney's Lessons on Romans Volume II Expanded E-Book Edition

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


The Letter to the Romans stands as Paul's most significant message on how to begin and maintain a loving relationship with God and others. The Holy Spirit often leads those seeking to understand the essentials of saving and sanctifying faith to read Romans. "Principles of Peace," Finney's Lessons on Romans Volume II, presents an authoritative collection of Finney's teachings on how to live for Jesus Christ in the power of the Holy Spirit.

Charles G. Finney became the greatest American preacher and theologian of the Nineteenth-Century. He traveled as an evangelist and revivalist in America and abroad, served in settled pastorates, taught as a professor of theology, promoted the abolition of slavery and equal rights, helped found and served as President of Oberlin College. Just as one cannot understand the Great Awakening without studying Jonathan Edwards, one cannot understand the great revivals and the theological and social movements in Nineteenth-Century America without studying Charles G. Finney. Because Finney's teachings remained true to the Bible and common sense, his message transformed thousands.

In this new Finney's Principles series book, the Study Questions by L.G. Parkhurst and the Commentary by Henry Cowles will help you apply Finney's teachings.

The Expanded E-Book Edition of "Principles of Peace: Finney's Lessons on Romans, Volume II" continues the Finney's Principles series, which began with the publication of Finney's "Principles of Prayer" in 1980. L.G. Parkhurst, Jr., the compiler and editor of the Finney's Principles series, will complete Finney's Lessons on Romans, with "Principles of Joy in the Holy Spirit: Volume III". The Expanded E-Book Edition of "Principles of Peace" contains two bonus lessons from "Principles of Righteousness" and "Principles of Joy in the Holy Spirit."To learn more about the Finney's Principles series and find additional study resources, visit and

These three new Finney's Principles Series book titles are based on the verse from Romans: "For the kingdom of God is not a matter of eating and drinking, but of righteousness, peace and joy in the Holy Spirit"-Romans 14:17.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940148754206
Publisher: Agion Press
Publication date: 09/20/2013
Series: Finney's Lessons on Romans , #2
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 257
File size: 337 KB

About the Author

James Gilcrist Lawson wrote about Charles Finney: "The writer is inclined to regard Charles G. Finney as the greatest evangelist and theologian since the days of the apostles. Over eighty-five in every hundred persons professing conversion to Christ in Finney's meetings remained true to God. Finney seems to have had the power of impressing the conscience with the necessity of holy living in such a manner as to procure the most lasting results." Charles Finney served Oberlin College from 1835-1875. He was Oberlin College: Professor of Systematic Theology, 1835-58; Professor of Pastoral Theology, 1835-75; Member of Board of Trustees, 1846-51; Elected President of Oberlin College, August 26, 1851; President and ex officio Member Board of Trustees, 1851-65; Died Oberlin, Ohio, August 16, 1875.

Henry Cowles served Served Oberlin College: 1835-1881. He received the A.B., Yale University, 1826; graduated Yale Seminary, 1828; D.D. Hillsdale College, 1863. Oberlin College: Professor of Languages, 1835-37; Professor of Ecclesiastical History and Pastoral Theology, 1837-40; Professor of the Literature of the Old Testament, 1840-48; Member of the Prudential Committee, 1836-37 and 1843-81; Member of Board of Trustees, 1851-81; General Agent, 1860-63; Lecturer on Prophecy and Biblical Introduction, 1869-78. Died Janesville, Wisconsin, September 6, 1881.

L.G. Parkhurst is the compiler, editor, and author of The Charles G. Finney Principles Series. He is the author of: Prayer Steps to Serenity: Daily Quiet Time Edition; How God Teaches Us to Pray: Lessons from the Lives of Francis and Edith Schaeffer; Francis and Edith Schaeffer: Expanded and Updated Edition. He writes the International Bible Lesson Commentary and the International Bible Lesson.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews