Punk 45: Sick on You! One Way Spit! After the Love & Before the Revolution, Vol. 3: Pro

Punk 45: Sick on You! One Way Spit! After the Love & Before the Revolution, Vol. 3: Pro


$20.01 $26.99 Save 26% Current price is $20.01, Original price is $26.99. You Save 26%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, November 19


The third volume of Soul Jazz Records' excellent Punk 45 compilation series focuses on some of the earliest front-runners of the punk movement, collecting 21 tracks of raw, weird, and sometimes psychedelic proto-punk recorded between 1969 and 1976, in some cases years before the late-'70s rise of punk. The collection goes as far back as the late-'60s composition "(I Wanna Love You Like A) Mad Dog" by junk instrument-implementing psych act Stavely Makepeace, but the true roots of punk's experimental, feral, and deeply outsider perspectives are best explored on tracks recorded a few years later by Detroit Afro-punkers Death, Ohio urchins Electric Eels, dark synth punk/proto-industrial acts like Cabaret Voltaire, and a host of other bands that were getting into vile, unhinged territory long before the Sex Pistols were even a twinkle in Malcolm McLaren's eye. Crime's gloriously loose "Hot Wire My Heart" (later covered by Sonic Youth on their Sister album) makes an appearance, as does Joe Strummer's pre-Clash outfit the 101'ers, a screaming track from Oklahoma single album freak rockers Debris, and the sci-fi meets lo-fi mess of Simply Saucer, sounding like Lou Reed on a heavy bender trying to figure out how to operate a synthesizer. After rock & roll's early days burned to a close and before the loud, fast, snotty upstarts of 1977 punk started their racket, there was a long stretch of lawless middle ground. This volume of Punk 45 does an amazing job corralling some of the various wild sounds from that nebulous time, anchoring the untameable numerous directions of its playlist with a finely considered flow and top-notch curation.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/06/2014
Label: Soul Jazz
UPC: 5026328102795
catalogNumber: 279
Rank: 116962

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Joe Strummer   Guitar,Vocals
Richard Davis   Organ,Saxophone
Andrew Matheson   Guitar,Percussion,Vocals
Phil Brown   Vocals
Gary Anderson   Drums
Paul Balbi   Drums
Pete Brown   Guitar
Ron Collier   Conga,Harp
Richard Dudanski   Drums
Alan Gordon   Drums
Johnny Guitar   Guitar,Vocals
Charlie Harrison   Saxophone,Vocals
Jesse Hector   Guitar,Vocals
Arthur Kane   Bass,Vocals
Dan Kelleher   Bass,Guitar,Vocals
Nick Knox   Drums
Steve Lewins   Bass
Louis Sparks   Drums
Casino Steel   Organ,Guitar,Piano,Vocals
Clive Timperley   Guitar,Vocals
Brian McMahon   Guitar
Dave McManus   Clarinet,Vocals
Jamie Klimek   Guitar,Vocals
Ping Romany   electronics
Johnny Strike   Guitar,Vocals
Edgar Breau   Guitar,Vocals
Jim Crook   Guitar
Alan Butler   Bass
Wayne Manor   Bass
Rob Woodward   Keyboards,Vocals
Nigel Fletcher   Conductor,Drums
Frankie Fix   Guitar,Vocals
Ricky Tractor   Drums
Charles Ivey   Synthesizer,Vocals,screams
Oliver Powers   Guitar,Vocals,electronics,B-Flat Clarinet
Johnny Gregg   Drums,Vocals
Jim Jones   Bass
Ron the Ripper   Bass
Jeff Barrett   Drums
Don Kerr   Guitar
Ygarr Ygarrist   Guitar,Vocals
Zany Zatovian   Bass
Zory Zenith   Vocals
George Brigman   Bass,Guitar,Vocals
Bobby Hackney   Bass,Vocals
Eon Flash   Drums
Pete Fisher   Bass
Curt   Guitar,Vocals
Dannis Hackney   Drums
David Hackney   Guitar
Randy Cohen   Synthesizer,Drums
Chris Gray   Bass,Guitar
Kalvin Kristoff   Bass,Vocals
Boris Policeband   Electric Violin
Jimi Image   Drums,Vocals
Andy Jay   Guitar,Vocals
Michael Weldon   Drums
Dave Godbey   Bass,Vocals
Kim Preston   Organ,Guitar,Electric Piano,Vocals
Mener Sheene   Guitar
Radio Pete   Vocals
Blackie Goozeman   Guitar,Vocals
Alain Poblador   Guitar,Vocals
Ricky Muchmore   Drums
Nigel Shannon   Bass
Michel-Robert Sahuc   Bass
John D. Morton   Guitar
Tony Cutaia   Drums
Simon Cassell   Saxophone
Roger Vidal   Drums
Robert Castello   Guitar
Robby Hall   Vocals
Rob "Dizzy Fingers" Hayes   Guitar

Technical Credits

Joe Strummer   Composer
Count Bishops   Producer
Stephen Mallinder   Composer,Instrumentation
Larry Page   Producer
Ray Davies   Composer
Hollywood Brats   Producer
Roger Armstrong   Producer
Richard H. Kirk   Composer,Instrumentation
Billy Myers   Composer
Jim Vitti   Engineer
Chris Watson   Composer,Instrumentation
Paul Marotta   Producer,Engineer
Jon Savage   Sleeve Notes
Jamie Klimek   Composer
Johnny Strike   Composer
Edgar Breau   Composer
Rob Woodward   Composer
Nigel Fletcher   Composer
Stuart Baker   Liner Notes
Oliver Powers   Composer
Stephen Della "SDB" Bosca   Composer
Ygarr Ygarrist   Composer
Zory Zenith   Composer
George Brigman   Composer,Producer
Mark Shipper   Sleeve Notes
Bobby Hackney   Composer
Death   Producer
Curt   Producer
Robert Woodward   Arranger
Chris Gray   Composer
Anita Fischer   Cover Painting
Karen Jones Lipman   Layout
Kim Preston   Composer
Radio Pete   Engineer,Instrumentation
Chuck Ivey   Composer
Blackie Goozeman   Composer
Alain Poblador   Composer
Paul Taussing   Producer
Michel-Robert Sahuc   Composer
John D. Morton   Composer,Artwork

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews