by Michael Lington


$16.32 $18.99 Save 14% Current price is $16.32, Original price is $18.99. You Save 14%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 17


Though for some reason less renowned than his fellow smooth jazz sax greats Dave Koz, Boney James, and Richard Elliot, the Danish-born Lington has been a core part of the genre experience for years. While he's always had a way with killer ballads -- typified on this set by the sensual closer "A Simpler Time," featuring the thoughtful acoustic guitar of Jonathan Butler -- his powerhouse R&B, rock, and jazz-driven approach on his funky tunes makes him the guy fans can point to when naysayers dismiss "smooth jazz" as glorified elevator music. As its title implies, Pure is one of his best efforts and gets back to the funk basics, drawing clear influence from Junior Walker -- most directly on the jangling, blistering, and brassy fun of "Shotgun," featuring the trademark raspy vocals of Michael Bolton (with whom Lington often tours). Lington ensures that his melodic horn intensity is surrounded by the ultimate funkmeisters like bassist Ricky Minor and guitarists Ray Parker, Jr. and Paul Jackson, Jr. -- with a smokin' bluesy solo by Jeff Golub on the high-octane "Playtime." But the old-school blues/jazz vibe Lington is after on most of these tracks comes even more powerfully from his alternating keyboardists Jeff Babko and Dave Delhomme), who dazzle nonstop with their simmering harmonies on Hammond B-3 and Fender Rhodes. It's also great to have the likes of Lee Ritenour (the exuberant opening track "Roadtrip") and Brian Culbertson (who plays and co-produces on "Roadtrip" and "Like Old Times." Bill Withers' always engaging "Lovely Day" is thrown in for old-school good measure, adding a cool chill-out factor to balance the intense, horn fired sizzle that dominates the set. For Lington fans, sax maniacs, and anyone who likes to groove, it's a Pure joy.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/14/2012
Label: Trippin & Rhythm
UPC: 0020286167471
catalogNumber: 53
Rank: 41739

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Michael Lington   Primary Artist,Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Michael Bolton   Vocals
Jonathan Butler   Acoustic Guitar
Jeff Golub   Guitar,Soloist
Chris Bruce   Guitar
Janey Clewer   Vocals
Brian Culbertson   Keyboards
Victor Indrizzo   Drums
Paul Jackson   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Torcuato Mariano   Acoustic Guitar
Tollak Ollestad   Harmonica
Ray Parker   Guitar
Lee Ritenour   Guitar
Kenya Hathaway   Vocals
Smitty Smith   Bass
Jeff Babko   Piano,Clavinet,fender rhodes,Wurlitzer,Hammond B3
David Delhomme   fender rhodes,Hammond B3
Oscar Seaton   Drums
Mike Broening   Keyboards
Thano Sahnas   Acoustic Guitar
Kaveh Rastegar   Bass
Michael Stever   Trumpet
Rex Hardy   Drums
Michael Thompson   Electric Guitar
Rickey Minor   Bass
Cameron Harder-Handel   Trumpet
Michael Brioni   Trombone
Teddy Campell   Drums

Technical Credits

Bill Withers   Composer
Brian Culbertson   Composer,Producer
Bob Horn   Engineer
John Paterno   Engineer
Michael Lington   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Horn Arrangements
Jeff Babko   Composer,Producer
Travis Dickerson   Engineer
Mike Broening   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Joshua Blanchard   Engineer
Michael Stever   Horn Arrangements
Nate Harasim   Graphic Design
Clarence Scarborough   Composer
Steven Milo   Engineer
Cutmore   Executive Producer
Alex Barajas   Engineer
Autry Dewalt   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews