by Jorma Kaukonen
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 18


Quah -- Jorma Kaukonen's (guitar/vocal) solo debut effort -- was recorded and issued shortly after the dissolution of Jefferson Airplane in 1974. In contrast to the sonic indulgences of Grace Slick's Manhole or Paul Kantner and Jefferson Starship's Blows Against the Empire, Kaukonen retreated back to his folk-blues roots along with vocalist Tom Hobson -- who contributes to "Blue Prelude" and "Sweet Hawaiian Sunshine" -- to create this intricate acoustic masterwork. From the highly original artwork -- courtesy of Kaukonen's then-wife Margareta -- to the stark and beautiful melodies within the grooves, Quah is unlike any other recording from the era. Much of the album's vibe is strikingly similar to the final contributions that Kaukonen made to Jefferson Airplane. The most obvious and direct correlation being "Third Week at the Chelsea," which maintains much of the same intimacy as the tracks "Genesis," "Flying Clouds," and "Song for the North Star." Likewise, his admiration for folk, blues, and gospel -- which had first surfaced on the self-titled Hot Tuna debut release -- informs the content of this disc on his cover of Rev. Gary Davis' "I Am the Light of This World" as well as the haunting traditional blues "Another Man Done Gone"and Blind Boy Blake's understatedly ribald "Police Dog Blues." Tom Hobson's inimitable vocal delivery stands apart from Kaukonen's in a somewhat theatrical manner. His take on the noir torch song "Blue Prelude" could not be more dissimilar to the practically giddy "Sweet Hawaiian Sunshine." Yet both are equally functional in the context of the rest of the album. In 1987 Relix magazine issued a very limited pressing of Quah on CD. Tragically, it was not re-pressed and remains near the top of want lists from enthusiasts eager to retire worn vinyl copies. This disc is a timeless and highly underrated statement from one of the world's premier guitarists. It is worthy -- if not quietly demanding -- of repeated listening.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/07/2003
Label: Sbme Special Mkts.
UPC: 0886977025822
catalogNumber: 770258
Rank: 2401


  1. Genesis
  2. I'll Be All Right
  3. Song for the North Star
  4. I'll Let You Know Before I Leave
  5. Flying Clouds
  6. Another Man Done Gone
  7. I Am the Light of This World
  8. Police Dog Blues
  9. Blue Prelude
  10. Sweet Hawaiian Sunshine
  11. Hamar Promanade
  12. Lord Have Mercy
  13. No Mail Today
  14. Midnight in Milpitas
  15. Barrier

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews