R&B Collection

R&B Collection



Highlighting the dominance of the genre in 2010, Universal's R&B Collection, one of countless retrospectives competing for the self-respecting urban fan stocking-filler market, features six number one singles, from both home-grown acts (JLS' "The Club Is Alive," Taio Cruz's "Dynamite") and international superstars (Usher's "OMG," Rihanna's "Only Girl in the World"). Alongside the chart-toppers, there are also huge hits from Timbaland feat. Katy Perry, Nelly, and the ubiquitous will.i.am., club anthems from Kelly Rowland, Jay Sean, and Tinchy Stryder, and lesser-known material from the likes of Luigi Masi, Donae'o, and Incisive. Highlights from the first disc include the David Guetta-style dance-pop of Chipmunk's "Look for Me," Tinie Tempah's grime crossover "Pass Out," and the old-skool breakbeats of Aggro Santos' "Saint or Sinner," while Alicia Keys' gorgeously soulful "Unthinkable (I'm Ready)," Shontelle's epic power ballad "Impossible," and Devlin's string-led breakthrough "Runaway" provide the standouts from Disc Two. B.o.B and Roll Deep, who both scored two huge number ones in 2010, are notable by their absence, as are fellow hitmakers Flo Rida, Jason Derulo, and Bruno Mars, while the likes of Lady Gaga's Ace of Base-esque "Alejandro," and Cheryl Cole's Gallic-fused pop number "Promise This" are puzzling inclusions which seem out of place among the rest of the more relevant urban material. Of course, with contributions from Justin Bieber, JLS and Alexandra Burke, R&B Collection 2011 is always going to appeal to a more commercial, less-discerning audience, but despite its chart-friendly track listing, its several big-name omissions means it fails to paint the full picture of the scene's hugely successful year.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/29/2010
Label: Universal Uk
UPC: 0600753319505
catalogNumber: 5331950

Album Credits

Technical Credits

James Brown   Composer
Richard Rodgers   Composer
Caron Wheeler   Composer
Steve Arrington   Composer
Walter "Junie" Morrison   Composer
William DeVaughn   Composer
Louis Biancaniello   Composer
Mary J. Blige   Composer
Leroy "Sugarfoot" Bonner   Composer
Charles Carter   Composer
Geoffrey Downes   Composer
David Frank   Composer
Oscar Hammerstein   Composer
Nellee Hooper   Composer
Trevor Horn   Composer
Kevin McCall   Composer
Roger Parker   Composer
Hank Shocklee   Composer
Bruce Woolley   Composer
Eric Wright   Composer
Eric Sadler   Composer
Stacy Ferguson   Composer
Jerome "J-Roc" Harmon   Composer
Carlton Ridenhour   Composer
Clarence "Satch" Satchell   Composer
Damian "Junior Gong" Marley   Composer
Christopher "Tricky" Stewart   Composer
Max Martin   Composer
James Scheffer   Composer
D. Johnson   Composer
Andre Young   Composer
Crystal Johnson   Composer
Benny Blanco   Composer
Beresford Romeo   Composer
Timothy Clayton   Composer
Antwan Patton   Composer
Tim Mosley   Composer
Johnta Austin   Composer
Emanuel "E.J." Johnson   Composer
Kerry Brothers   Composer
Wayne Wilkins   Composer
Justin Timberlake   Composer
Mulatu Astatke   Composer
Mike Busbee   Composer
Jamal Jones   Composer
Ricardo Lewis   Composer
Jean Baptiste   Composer
Fraser T. Smith   Composer
Marvin Pierce   Composer
O'Shea Jackson   Composer
Mike Stokes   Composer
Alicia Keys   Composer
Andrew Frampton   Composer
Chris Carmouche   Composer
David Guetta   Composer
Sandy Wilhelm   Composer
Bonnie McKee   Composer
Shaffer Smith   Composer
Aliaune "Akon" Thiam   Composer
LaRon James   Composer
Jeff Bhasker   Composer
Chris Brown   Composer
Rico Love   Composer
Adam Walder   Composer
Jim Beanz   Composer
Mikkel Storleer Eriksen   Composer
Taio Cruz   Composer
David Jost   Composer
Celetia Martin   Composer
RedOne   Composer
Chipmunk   Composer
Robin Grubert   Composer
Savan Kotecha   Composer
Ester Dean   Composer
Lady Gaga   Composer
Lorenzo Patterson   Composer
Jim Jonson   Composer
Mark Knight   Composer
Justin Bieber   Composer
Tor Erik Hermansen   Composer
Layz   Composer
J. Beanz   Composer
Michael Stevenson   Composer
Noah Shebib   Composer
Jaime L. Munson   Composer
Charles Harmon   Composer
Marcos Palacios   Composer
Aubrey "Drake" Graham   Composer
Gregory Webster   Composer
J. Perkins   Composer
Benjamin Levin   Composer
J. Scheffer   Composer
Christopher Bridges   Composer
James Devlin   Composer
Ralph Middlebrook   Composer
R. Butler   Composer
Jaime Gomez   Composer
Simon Law   Composer
Armando C. Perez   Composer
Richard Rawson   Composer
Costadinos Contostavlos   Composer
Talay Riley   Composer
William Roberts   Composer
Kwasi Danquah   Composer
Tulisa Contostavlos   Composer
Kisean Anderson   Composer
C. Haynes   Composer
Nasir Jones   Composer
Carlos Battey   Composer
Steven Battey   Composer
Marshall Jones   Composer
Onika Maraj   Composer
Charles Penniman   Composer
Ian Greenidge   Composer
Ernest Clark   Composer
Timothy McKenzie   Composer
Patrick Okogwu   Composer
Michael Murphy   Composer
M. Beite   Composer
J. Skaller   Composer
J. Cotter   Composer
R. Larow   Composer
Marc Williams   Composer
Mohombi   Composer
Allan Pineda   Composer
Jodd Knight   Composer
Derek Safo   Composer
Tyler Williams   Composer
Lukasz Gottwald   Composer
Christopher Jackson   Composer
Christian Milian   Composer
C. Haynes   Composer
Buddy L. Hank   Composer
Ilya S.   Composer
H.D. Samuels   Composer
Terius Nash   Composer
Yasmin Shahmir   Composer
Taoufik Korriche   Composer
Steve Mac   Composer
Shakka Philips   Composer
Samuel Wattrs   Composer
Robert Ginyrad   Composer
Reuben Adamah   Composer
Priscille Hamilton   Composer
Norman Bruce Napier   Composer
Marco Richardson   Composer
William Adams   Composer
Scott Storch   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews