Rebel Rousers: Southern Rock Classics

Rebel Rousers: Southern Rock Classics



Rebel Rousers: Southern Rock Classics isn't the definitive collection suggested by its title, but it still manages to offer a pretty decent overview of this oft-neglected genre. This compilation primarily consists of the Southern rock tunes that managed to cross over to pop radio. That might sound limiting, but the tunes chosen here represent a pretty diverse cross section of material, including everything from the Southern-fried soul of tunes like Elvin Bishop's "Fooled Around and Fell in Love" to the slicker, more radio-friendly stylings of .38 Special's "Caught Up in You" and the Ozark Mountain Daredevils' "Jackie Blue." There are also a few epic-length rockers thrown in with the Allman Brothers' "Statesboro Blues" and Lynyrd Skynyrd's "Free Bird," both represented with sweaty, intense live versions that show off the no-frills appeal of Southern rock. Veteran fans of the genre will be pleased by a few lesser-known choices that round out the album, the best being Travis Wammack's Dixie-flavored take on the James Gang classic "Funk #49." The problem with Rebel Rousers: Southern Rock Classics lies in the songs that are omitted due to licensing issues: Important Southern rock outfits like the Charlie Daniels Band, Blackfoot, and Molly Hatchet get ignored completely on this disc. Despite these unfortunate omissions, Rebel Rousers: Southern Rock Classics offers a consistent selection of favorites from this genre, making this album a decent primer for the uninitiated.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/28/1992
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227058623
catalogNumber: 70586


  1. Statesboro Blues
  2. Jim Dandy
  3. Funk #49
  4. Keep on Smilin'
  5. Fooled Around and Fell in Love
  6. Heard It in a Love Song
  7. Jackie Blue
  8. Freeborn Man
  9. Coming Home
  10. Caught up in You
  11. Don't Misunderstand Me
  12. Free Bird

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Gregg Allman   Vocals
Allman Brothers Band   Track Performer
Dickey Betts   Guitar
Elvin Bishop   Guitar,Track Performer
Black Oak Arkansas   Track Performer
Lynyrd Skynyrd   Guitar,Track Performer
Marshall Tucker Band   Track Performer
Outlaws   Track Performer
Ozark Mountain Daredevils   Track Performer
Travis Wammack   Guitar,Track Performer
Wet Willie   Track Performer
Allen Collins   Guitar
Jimmy Hall   Vocals
Artimus Pyle   Drums
Freddie Salem   Guitar
Mickey Thomas   Vocals
Steve Gaines   Guitar
Billy Powell   Guitar
.38 Special   Track Performer
Duane Allman   Guitar
Don Barnes   Guitar
Steve Brookins   Drums
Jeff Carlisi   Guitar
Rossington Collins Band   Track Performer
Jack Grondin   Guitar
Bill Jones   Guitar
Larry Junstrom   Bass
Ed King   Guitar
James Mangrum   Vocals
Gary Rossington   Guitar
Ruby Starr   Vocals
Hughie Thomasson   Guitar
Johnny Van Zant   Vocals,Track Performer
Donnie Van Zant   Vocals
Leon Wilkeson   Bass

Technical Credits

Allman Brothers Band   Contributor
Black Oak Arkansas   Contributor
Cub Koda   Liner Notes
Marshall Tucker Band   Contributor
Outlaws   Contributor
Ozark Mountain Daredevils   Contributor
Wet Willie   Contributor
.38 Special   Contributor
John Anthony   Composer
Don Barnes   Composer
Tommy Caldwell   Composer
Jeff Carlisi   Composer
Rossington Collins Band   Contributor
Tom Dowd   Producer
Robert Gray   Composer
Jack Hall   Composer
Ricky Hirsch   Composer
Gary Rossington   Composer
D. Clinton Thompson   Contributor
Johnny Van Zant   Composer
James Peterik   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews