Reflections: A Retrospective

Reflections: A Retrospective

by Mary J. Blige


$7.93 $9.99 Save 21% Current price is $7.93, Original price is $9.99. You Save 21%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 29


From 1992's "You Remind Me" through 2006's "Take Me as I Am," Mary J. Blige netted 16 Top Ten R&B singles, making the end of 2006 the ideal time to produce an anthology collecting the singer's biggest hits. A 16-track disc with nothing but Top Ten hits would be undeniable -- though, admittedly, not faultless since the 15 years of highlights cannot be contained on one disc -- a rather thorough and pleasing collection that would have no problem selling steadily for several years. Unfortunately, Reflections (A Retrospective) is nowhere close to being that straightforward. A mere handful of the Top Ten hits are included; while obvious picks like "Be Happy," "Real Love," "Not Gon' Cry," and "Be Without You" are present, a casual fan could rattle off just as many well-known songs that are not. (For starters, there are "You Remind Me," "Sweet Thing," "Deep Inside," "Love @ 1st Sight," and "Take Me as I Am.") Part of why the disc is missing so much is because over a quarter of it consists of new material; since Blige was still very active in 2006, the label found it necessary to maximize the sales potential by targeting the serious fans as much as the casual ones. By no means are the new songs poor, but none of them stand up to Blige's best singles. The same can be said of 2000's "911," where Blige guests for Wyclef Jean -- a well-chosen disc of Blige's best collaborations wouldn't include it. The other glaring gripe is the favoring of "I'll Be There for You/You're All I Need to Get By"'s "Razor Sharp Mix" over the original. With all these issues, it's impossible to not think of the disc as a first volume in desperate need of a follow-up. One of many things authenticating Blige's greatness is that this disc, for all its foul-ups, remains a completely enjoyable (if not completely satisfying) listen.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/12/2006
Label: Geffen Records
UPC: 0602517131552
catalogNumber: 000811202

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Mary J. Blige   Primary Artist,Vocals,Background Vocals
Babyface   Various
Paul Pesco   Guitar
Victor Bailey   Bass,Bass Guitar
Vincent Henry   Alto Saxophone
Bruce Purse   Trumpet
Sid Page   Strings
Gloria Agostini   Harp
Charlie Bisharat   Strings
Tabitha Brace   Background Vocals
Jacqueline Brand   Strings
Regina Carter   Violin
Frank Colon   Percussion
Brian Dembow   Strings
Joel Derouin   Strings
Ron Fair   Organ,Guitar,Piano,Orchestra Bells
Eileen Folson   Cello
Julie Gigante   Strings
Alan Grunfeld   Strings
Clayton Haslop   Strings
Eric Hudson   Bass,Bass Guitar
David Hurst   Background Vocals
Jimmy Jam   Various
Mark Ledford   Trumpet
Terry Lewis   Various
Fred McFarlane   Keyboards
Terri Robinson   Background Vocals
Mike Scott   Guitar
Lenny Underwood   Piano
Josefina Vergara   Strings
Jimmy Wright   Background Vocals
Method Man   Rap
Eric Hall   Horn
Robert "JJ" Smith   Bass
Lesa Terry   Violin
Diane Monroe   Violin
Wyclef Jean   Vocals
Chucky Thompson   Various
Natalie Leggett   Strings
Mike Elizondo   Bass,Bass Guitar
James "Big Jim" Wright   Organ,Background Vocals
LaTonya Blige-DaCosta   Background Vocals
Terry Robinson   Background Vocals
Camara Kambon   Keyboards
Loren Dawson   Keyboards
Roberto Cani   Strings
Samuel Formicola   Strings
Bryan-Michael Cox   Multi Instruments,Various
Jewelynn Green   Background Vocals
Alyssa Park   Strings
Songa Lee   Strings
David "Sparky" Hughes   Background Vocals
Sharief Hobley   Guitar
John Legend   Piano,Vocals,Background Vocals
Raymond Hinton   Guitar
Tereza Stanislav   Strings
Endre Genet   Strings
Rexell Hardy   Drums
Kendrick "Wyldcard" Dean   Strings
Daniel Hall   Horn
Phillip Levy   Strings
Mario de León   Strings
Lily Ho Chen   Strings
Jim Wright   Organ
Eileen Fiolsom   Cello
E. Hudson   Various
'Prince' Charles Alexander   Flute
Mark C. Rooney   Keyboards
Keyon Harold   Horn
Robert 'JJ' Smith   Bass Guitar
Kevin 'K-Dog' Johnson   Drums
Jarell Banks   Horn
Young Smoke   Keyboards
Jessyca Wilson   Background Vocals
Rexell Hardy   Drums
Paul Pescoe   Guitar
LaTonia Hughes   Background Vocals
David Hughes   Background Vocals
B. Cox   Bass Guitar
Adam Burton   Horn

Technical Credits

Roy Ayers   Composer
Bunny Sigler   Composer
Dr. Dre   Audio Production
Mary J. Blige   Composer,Executive Producer,Vocal Arrangements,Vocal Producer
Mary Brown   Composer
Sean "Puffy" Combs   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Ron Fair   Vocal Arrangements,String Arrangements,Vocal Producer,String Conductor
Mike Fonda   Engineer
Brad Gilderman   Engineer
Steve Hodge   Vocal Engineer
Eric Hudson   Composer
Jimmy Jam   Producer,Audio Production
Mark Ledford   Producer
Terry Lewis   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Bruce Miller   Composer
Mark Morales   Composer,Producer,drum machine,Vocal Arrangements,Audio Production
Norman Whitfield   Composer
Andy Grassi   Engineer
Prince Rakeem   Audio Production
Nasheim Myrick   Engineer
Babyface   Arranger,Producer,Audio Production
Xavier Smith   Assistant Vocal Engineer
Erika Ortiz   Composer
Wyclef Jean   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Poke   Audio Production
Chucky Thompson   Composer,Producer,Audio Production,Vocal Producer
Randy Walker   MIDI Programming
Jack Hersca   Engineer
Jerry "Wonda" Duplessis   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Mike Elizondo   Composer
Jan Fairchild   Engineer
Andre Young   Composer
Arlene DelValle   Composer
Michael McCoy   Engineer
Jean Claude "Poke" Olivier   Composer
Camara Kambon   Composer
Johnta Austin   Composer
Drew FitzGerald   Art Direction
Chris Ribando   Engineer
Jason Perry   Composer
Justice League   Audio Production
J.P. Robinson   Creative Assistance
Bryan-Michael Cox   Composer,Programming,Producer,Audio Production
Kendu Isaacs   Producer,Vocal Engineer,Audio Production
John Legend   Producer,Audio Production
Katia Cadet   Composer
Kendrick Dean   Composer
Sean Garrett   Composer
Danielle Demmerella   Marketing Coordinator
Kendrick "Wyldcard" Dean   Producer,Audio Production
E. Hudson   Audio Production
Mark C. Rooney   Audio Production
Young Smoke   Audio Production
Alex Richburg   drum programming
Sedeck   Audio Production
Avenue (Rhino)   drum programming,Audio Production

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Reflections (A Retrospective) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago