Resistance Is Futile

Resistance Is Futile

by Manic Street Preachers


$12.14 $13.99 Save 13% Current price is $12.14, Original price is $13.99. You Save 13%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 22


The title Resistance Is Futile can be read two ways: it can be seen as a statement of defiance, a claim that no listener can withstand the bombast of Manic Street Preachers, or it can be seen as an admission that there is no reason to put up a fight in these politically charged times. The title and lyrics of "People Give In" -- a song where James Dean Bradfield sings "People get tired, people get old" -- may suggest that the Manics are on the verge of giving up the ghost as they approach middle age, but that's a feint. Resistance Is Futile is clearly the work of a band whose members cherish vitality above all other attributes, but the reason why the Manics remain an ongoing concern after a quarter century is that they never attempt to act like any other age than what they are. Which doesn't mean that the album doesn't deliberately call up ghosts. It's produced by Dave Eringa, who produced their 1993 breakthrough, Gold Against the Soul, and it leans into the anthemic stadium rock of that record, while also conjuring elements of the widescreen AAA rock of 1996's Everything Must Go -- a fusion that suits the Manics well, and is bolstered by a steely synth gilding that recalls alt-rock records of the late '80s. If the music unabashedly co-opts the past, the songs all deal with the present, mixing up the personal and political in equal measure. This seamless blend of aesthetics is also why Resistance Is Futile works musically. First, it comes on strong -- all sharp edges and gleam -- but once the blare fades, the melodies and their accompanying sweetness linger, leaving a lasting impression behind.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/22/2018
Label: Shornday Limited
UPC: 0190758098623
catalogNumber: 4
Rank: 150289

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Manic Street Preachers   Primary Artist
James Dean Bradfield   Keyboards,Group Member
Dave Eringa   Keyboards
Nicky Wire   Vocals,Group Member
Nick Nasmyth   Keyboards
Bernard Kane   Strings
Gavin Fitzjohn   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Nathan Stone   Strings
Loz Williams   Keyboards
Sean Moore   Keyboards,Group Member
Tony Cleaton   Strings
Joanna Walters   Strings
Andy Walters   Strings
Steffan Garrero   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Manic Street Preachers   Composer
James Dean Bradfield   String Arrangements
Dave Eringa   Producer,Engineer
Nicky Wire   Art Conception
Guy Massey   Producer,Engineer
Kieran Evans   Images
Alex Lake   Band Photo
Gavin Fitzjohn   Engineer,String Arrangements,Additional Production
Loz Williams   Producer,Engineer
Andy Walters   String Arrangements

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews