Revival: Life of Richard Wagner, Vol. I (1900): The Art Work of the Future

Revival: Life of Richard Wagner, Vol. I (1900): The Art Work of the Future

by Carl Friedrich Glasenapp

NOOK Book(eBook)

$65.99 $74.95 Save 12% Current price is $65.99, Original price is $74.95. You Save 12%.

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


This volume brings our story down to 1843, an important era in Richard Wagner’s Life, with his entry, as composer, of two successful operas, upon a so-called "practical" career at one of the principal German theatres.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781351342391
Publisher: Taylor & Francis
Publication date: 04/20/2018
Series: Routledge Revivals
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 414
File size: 4 MB

Table of Contents

INTRODUCTORY 1. Family History 2. Adolf Wagner 3. Friedrich Wagner 4. Ludwig Geyer FIRST BOOK: CHILDHOOD AND YOUTH (1813-1833) 1. The Year 1813 2. Removal to Dresden 3. Geyer’s Last Years 4. Richard Wagner as Child 5. The Kreuzschuler 6. Leipzig 7. Leipzig Court-Theatre, and July Revolution 8. The Student of Music 9. The C Major Symphony SECOND BOOK; STRAYINGS AND WANDERINGS (1833-1843) 1. Wurzburg: "Die Feen" 2. "Das Liebesverbot" 3. Magdeburg 4. Rosalie Wagner 5. Konigsberg 6. Riga 7. "Rienzi, Der Letzte Der Tribunen" 8. From Riga to Paris 9. First Parisian Disappointments 10. Completion of "Rienzi" 11. "Der Fliegende Hollander" 12. Dresden APPENDICES I. Genealogical Table II. Family Chronicle 1643-1813 III. Supplemental Notes Index

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews