Right Place Right Time

Right Place Right Time

by Olly Murs


The third studio album from the runner-up of the 2009 season of The X Factor, 2012's Right Place Right Time features more of vocalist Olly Murs' soulful, R&B-inflected pop music. This time around Murs delves into even more of a funk sound, and tracks like "Troublemaker" (featuring rapper Flo Rida) and "Hey You Beautiful" bring to mind the sound of such similarly inclined contemporaries as Maroon 5 and the Wanted. Elsewhere, Murs touches upon some more organic sounds, as with the orchestral-inflected "Loud & Clear" and the yearning romantic anthem "Hand on Heart." This kind of balance between a brighter, slicker dance sound and a more uplifting singer/songwriter approach fits Murs nicely and brings him closer to such contemporaries as OneRepublic and Ed Sheeran. The fact that Murs' swaggering, cheeky personality comes through on what is on the surface a big, mainstream pop production is in large part what makes the album so appealing. Perhaps not surprisingly, Murs co-wrote most of the songs with a handful of producers, including Claude Kelly and Steve Robson, both of whom worked on Murs' 2011 album, In Case You Didn't Know. Also featured here are productions from Andrew Frampton (Natasha Bedingfield, Kylie Minogue), Darren Lewis aka Future Cut (Lily Allen, Shakira), and others. Ultimately, with Right Place Right Time, one might say Murs is maturing. Thankfully, that doesn't mean he's getting boring, and these songs are as pop-oriented and fun as anything he's done before.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/16/2013
Label: Sony
UPC: 0887254963622
catalogNumber: 549636

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Olly Murs   Primary Artist
Sally Herbert   Conductor
Steve Robson   Bass,Guitar,Drums,Keyboards,Musician
Tom Barnes   Drums
Tommy Blaize   Background Vocals
Darren Lewis   Guitar,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Wayne Hector   Background Vocals
Dominic Glover   Trumpet
Claude Kelly   Background Vocals
Iyiola Babalola   Synthesizer,Bass,Percussion,Drums,Background Vocals
Adam Argyle   Bass,Guitar
Luke Potashnick   Guitar
Jim Eliot   Synthesizer,Percussion,Piano,Drums
Iain James   Background Vocals
Darren Heelis   Korg
Ben Kohn   Guitar
Nichol Thomson   Trombone
Jack Birchwood   Bugle
Andrew Michael Ross   Saxophone
Rebecca Wills   Flute
Peter Whitifield   Violin,Viola

Technical Credits

Martin Brammer   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Steve Fitzmaurice   Programming
Sally Herbert   String Arrangements
Steve Robson   Composer,Programming,Producer
Tom Barnes   Composer
Simon Hale   String Arrangements
Darren Lewis   Composer,Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
Future Cut   Producer,Engineer
Wayne Hector   Composer
John Hanes   Engineer
Ari Raskin   Engineer
Claude Kelly   Composer,Producer,Vocal Arrangements,Vocal Producer
Iyiola Babalola   Composer,Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
Adam Argyle   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Chuck Harmony   Producer
Sam Miller   Engineer
Sam Preston   Composer
Fearless   Producer,Engineer
Josh Wilkinson   Programming
Jim Eliot   Composer,Sound Effects,Producer,drum programming
Iain James   Composer
Darren Heelis   Programming
Charles Harmon   Composer
Ben Kohn   Composer
Tramar Dillard   Composer
Alex Smith   Composer
Ed Drewett   Composer
Olly Murs   Composer
Chidera Anamege   Composer
Daniela Rivera   Engineer
Peter Strain   Illustrations,Text,Cover Art,Cover Illustration
Peter Whitifield   String Arrangements
TMS   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews