Riot City Blues

Riot City Blues

by Primal Scream


Primal Scream major-domo Bobby Gillespie has steered his ship through all manner of choppy musical waters over the years, from MC5-inspired bashing to woozy electronica to brittle industrial techno. But no matter what the context, one thing remains constant in Gillespie's sonic vision: His music is meant to convey (and enhance) a mood of substance-fueled revelry and/or dissipation. That's certainly the case on Riot City Blues, a raw-boned set that recalls the Rolling Stones circa Sticky Fingers, both in its sound -- which leans heavily on country-blues influences -- and its vibe, a celebration of debauchery the likes of which don't come along often these days. The raucous "Country Girl" -- on which it's easy to imagine beer bottles breaking in the background -- sets the tone perfectly, with mandolins and twangy guitars framing Gillespie's booze-soaked drawl in smoky tones. What follows is, by and large, meat-and-potatoes rock with roots about as deep as redwoods. Sometimes, as on "Sweet Rock and Roll" and "We're Gonna Boogie," it's necessary to tune out Gillespie's simplistic lyrical stance in order to concentrate on the riffage at hand. Then again, the singer manages to tap into some primordial emotion when he's in the mood, most notably on the aching closer, "Sometimes I Feel So Lonely." It's that confluence of moods -- boozy bacchanalia and hung-over regret -- that makes Riot City Blues so easy to relate to, and get lost in.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/22/2006
Label: Sony
UPC: 0828768851326
catalogNumber: 88513

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Primal Scream   Primary Artist
Martin Duffy   Organ,Harmonica,Piano,Harmonium,Group Member
Warren Ellis   Violin
Bobby Gillespie   Vocals,Group Member
Andrew Innes   Banjo,Guitar,Mandolin,Moog Synthesizer,Group Member
Will Sergeant   Guitar
Gary Mounfield   Bass Guitar,Group Member
Julie Roberts   Background Vocals
John Gibbons   Background Vocals
Robert Young   Guitar,Harmonica,Group Member
Alison Mosshart   Vocals
Sharlene Hector   Background Vocals
Darrin Mooney   Percussion,Drums,Group Member
Chris Allen   Hurdy-Gurdy
Sylvia Mason James   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

John Lennon   Composer
Primal Scream   Composer,Engineer
Youth   Producer,Audio Production
Tim Bran   Programming
Clive Goddard   Engineer
Andrew Innes   Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
Greg Gordon   Engineer
Ryan Castle   Engineer
Chris Denman   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews