Rise [Bonus Tracks]

Rise [Bonus Tracks]

by Gabrielle


View All Available Formats & Editions


British singer Gabrielle's third album was a monster hit in Europe but caused barely a ripple in the United States. It is unfortunate because the album is quite engaging, and had it received the proper promotion, it may have even registered a hit single or two in America. This is sophisticated, mellow British soul-pop, somewhat akin to Simply Red. The songs are pleasant, but none really stand out as instant hits, although her Bob Dylan-inspired "Rise" became a huge European smash. The album has a subtle 1960s feel to it, especially on "When a Woman" and "Falling," which recalls Supremes-era soul-pop. For the most part, though, the songs register between slow to mid-tempo, save for a brief moment of funk on the tune "5 O'Clock." Standout cuts include the ballad "Should I Stay," which, of all the gems on this set, seems the most hitworthy. "Only You" has a lush, beautiful string section, and the album's opener, "Sunshine," flows with an interesting groove. A good album, and surely deserving of more attention than what it received in the United States, especially considering the following she garnered with her first (and only) stateside hit, "Dreams." [The 2001 Japanese re-release includes three tracks not included on the original: "Out of Reach," "There's Nothing I Won't Do for You," and an acoustic version of "Rise" as well as three videos.]

Product Details

Release Date: 04/30/2001
Label: Spectrum Audio Uk
UPC: 0731454975223
catalogNumber: 5497522

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Gabrielle   Primary Artist,Vocals,Background Vocals
Mike Smith   Saxophone,Brass
Paul Johnson   Background Vocals
Chris Ballin   Background Vocals
Sarah Brown   Background Vocals
Derrick Cross   Background Vocals
Andy Gangadeen   Drums
Chester Kamen   Guitar
London Session Orchestra   Strings,Brass
Chucho Merchán   Percussion
Linda Muriel   Background Vocals
Marilyn Powell   Vocals
Gerard Presencer   Brass
Winston Rollins   Trombone,Brass
Sharon Scott   Background Vocals
Faye Simpson   Background Vocals
John Themis   Guitar
Lucy Wilkins   Strings,Violin
Sara Wilson   Cello
Bruce White   Viola
Mark Lawson   Background Vocals
Maryland Pierce   Background Vocals
Derrick Taylor   Bass,Bass Guitar
Toyin Adekale   Background Vocals
Howard Gott   Violin
Amanda Drummond   Viola
Andy Nice   Cello
Clare Raybould   Violin
Catherine Browning   Violin
Michelle John Douglas   Background Vocals
Ian Burdge   Cello
Dylan Howe   Drums
Chris Newton   Background Vocals
Ruth Gottlieb   Violin
Jason Hazeley   Keyboards,Vocals
Chris Worsey   Cello
Brian G. Wright   Violin
Doctor Gregory X.   Hammond Organ
Sophie Sarota   Cello,Viola
Natalia Bonner   Violin
Vincent Greene   Viola
Noel Vine   Violin
Robert Spriggs   Viola
Lurine Cato   Background Vocals
Martin Shaw   Trumpet
Jonathan Shorten   Keyboards,Background Vocals

Technical Credits

John Brough   Engineer
Simon Richmond   Producer,Instrumentation
Richie Fermie   Producer,drum programming
Olli Dagois   Producer
Julian Gallagher   Producer
Stephen Mckeon   String Arrangements
Jason Hazeley   String Arrangements,Brass Arrangment
Johnny Dollar   Producer,Instrumentation
Ferdy Unger Hamilton   Producer
Steve Cripps   Engineer
Richard "Biff" Stannard   Composer,Producer
Jonathan Shorten   Composer,Programming,Producer,Vocal Recording
Wil Malone   String Arrangements,Instrumentation,String Conductor

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews