Rockpalast: West Coast Legends, Vol. 2

Rockpalast: West Coast Legends, Vol. 2

by Jorma Kaukonen & Vital Parts



When Jorma Kaukonen's fans are discussing his post-Jefferson Airplane activities, the first thing that comes to mind is Hot Tuna. That's only natural. But the singer/guitarist has had other post-Airplane pursuits as well, including his short-lived late-'70s/early-'80s group Jorma Kaukonen & Vital Parts. This 73-minute CD focuses on Vital Parts' November 29, 1980 concert at the Kleine Westfalenhalle in Dortmund, Germany. Kaukonen was 39 at the time (he turned 40 the following month), and it was also in 1980 that Vital Parts recorded their studio album Barbecue King (released by RCA in early 1981). But none of the songs from Barbecue King are performed during this Dortmund show, which lacks that album's new wave and pop
ock qualities. This is, above all else, a blues-rock show, and the spirit of blues-rock is evident on Kaukonen's own songs (including "Junkies on Angel Dust," "Wake Up, Dead Man," "Valley of Tears," and "To Hate Is to Stay Young") as well as on an inspired performance of Mississippi Delta country blues legend Robert Johnson's "Walkin' Blues." Some country blues purists believe that Johnson's songs should only be heard in acoustic settings; Kaukonen obviously disagrees, and his performance of "Walkin' Blues" is a lot more amplified than Johnson's classic 1936 version. Not everything on this CD rigidly adheres to a traditional 12-bar blues structure; most of the songs don't, in fact. But the feeling and emotion of the blues are the things that ultimately define this live recording, which isn't in a class with Kaukonen's best work with Jefferson Airplane or Hot Tuna but is an enjoyable listen if one is fond of his blues-rock side.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/27/2010
Label: Spv U.S.
UPC: 0693723902821
catalogNumber: 90282


  1. Money Money
  2. Keep Your Lamps Trimmed and Burning
  3. To Hate is To Stay Young
  4. Wake Up Dead Man
  5. Jelly Raw Blues
  6. Junkies On Angel Dust
  7. Death Don't Have No Mercy
  8. Walkin' Blues
  9. Valley of Tears
  10. Straight Ahead
  11. [Untitled Hidden Track]

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews