Sack Full of Dreams

Sack Full of Dreams

by Onaje Allan Gumbs


Onaje Allan Gumbs has plenty of surprises in store for jazz fans in Sack Full of Dreams. Joined by bassist Marcus McLaurine (who has worked extensively with Clark Terry) and drummer George Gray, plus a few guests, Gumbs puts new twists on both familiar jazz pieces and songs not normally associated with jazz, as well as his own superb originals. His deliciously funky take of Herbie Hancock's "Cantaloupe Island" adds guitarist Bob DeVos and percussionist Gary Fritz, while his easygoing interpretation of the late Gary McFarland's ballad "Sack Full of Dreams" features the warm vocals of Obba Babatunde. Gumbs' breezy arrangement of "The Fishin' Pond" turns a once easygoing ballad with whistling into a hard bop cooker, though it should be familiar to those who watched The Andy Griffith Show. "Try to Remember" was the prominent recurring theme in the long-running Broadway musical The Fantasticks, though Gumbs plays a beautiful improvisation of it with the reverence of an offertory solo in church; not surprisingly, this track is dedicated to his late mother. Gumbs' compositions include the spirited blues "'Nitelife" and the reflective ballad "Lament," both featuring tenor saxophonist Mark Shim, though his roots funk jam "Stank You Very Much" quickly gets tedious. Finally, McLaurine contributed the infectious samba "Destiny." This CD should be considered one of Onaje Allan Gumbs' most essential recordings.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/09/2007
Label: 18th & Vine
UPC: 0723721253554
catalogNumber: 1051

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Onaje Allan Gumbs   Primary Artist,Piano
Bob DeVos   Guitar
George Gray   Drums
Marcus McLaurine   Bass
Gary Fritz   Percussion
Mark Shim   Saxophone
Obba Babatunde   Vocals

Technical Credits

Herbie Hancock   Composer
Onaje Allan Gumbs   Composer,Producer,Executive Producer
Gary McFarland   Composer
Freddie Hubbard   Composer
Marcus McLaurine   Composer
Steve Schiff   Executive Producer
A. Scott Galloway   Liner Notes
Earle H. Hagen   Composer
Jack Kreisberg   Producer
Tom Jones   Composer
Everett Sloane   Composer
Louis Savary   Composer
Herbert W. Spencer   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews