Scarred: The True Story of How I Escaped NXIVM, the Cult that Bound My Life

Scarred: The True Story of How I Escaped NXIVM, the Cult that Bound My Life

by Sarah Edmondson, Kristine Gasbarre

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99 $17.99 Save 44% Current price is $9.99, Original price is $17.99. You Save 44%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

The shocking and subversive memoir of a 12-year-NXIVM-member-turned-whistleblower, and her inspiring true story of abuse, escape, and redemption.

"Master, would you brand me? It would be an honor." Scarred follows actress Sarah Edmondson's account of her recruitment into the NXIVM cult, founded by Keith Raniere. It narrates in detail the 12 years she spent within the organization, during which she enrolled over 2,000 members, chronicling her breaking point and her harrowing fight to get out, help others, and heal.

• Complete with personal photographs, this tell-all follows Sarah from the moment she takes her first NXIVM seminar, to the invitation she accepts from her best friend, Lauren Salzman, into DOS—a "secret sisterhood" within the cult—to her journey toward becoming a key witness in the federal case against its founders.
• Readers will learn how cults like NXIVM get started, why people get involved (and stay), and the importance of whistleblowers who bring light to illegal and unethical practices.
• Sarah Edmondson is a Canadian actress and playwright who has starred in the CBS series Salvation and more than 12 films for the Hallmark Channel and Lifetime. She is featured in the CBC podcast Uncover: Escaping NXIVM and The Vow, the upcoming HBO documentary series on NXIVM.

Scarred isn't just about NXIVM. It is also a story about abuses of power, the role female friendships play in cults, and how sometimes the search to be "better" can override everything else.

• A thrilling read for fans of true crime and cults, as well as listeners of podcasts like My Favorite Murder and Up and Vanished.
• Great for fans of Troublemaker: Surviving Hollywood and Scientology by Leah Remini, Escape by Carolyn Jessop, Beyond Belief by Jenna Miscavige Hill, and Bad Blood by John Carreyrou.
• Evokes questions about friendship, ethics, good and evil, making it a perfect selection for book clubs.

Audio edition read by the author.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781797201467
Publisher: Chronicle Books LLC
Publication date: 09/17/2019
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 264
Sales rank: 34,454
File size: 663 KB

About the Author

Sarah Edmondson is a Canadian actress and playwright who has starred in the CBS series Salvation and more than twelve films for the Hallmark Channel and Lifetime. She is also a well-established voice-over artist for popular series such as Transformers: Cybertron and My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic.
Kristine Gasbarre is the author of the memoir How to Love an American Man, as well as the co-writer of the #1 New York Times bestselling Etched in Sand by Regina Calcaterra. Her work has been featured in such media outlets as People, Glamour, and the Oprah Winfrey Network.

Table of Contents

The Scar 1

Prologue: The Initiation 3

The Women 19

Part 1 Ethical Value Exchange (2005-2009)

Base Assumption 29

Integration 37

Inner Deficiency 57

Master Teacher 71

The Lift 77

Part 2 The Golden Years (2009-2012)

Persistency 97

Effort Strategies 117

Flip 123

Obedience 129

Part 3 Blowing It Up (2013-2017)

Shared Values 139

Rainbow Child 147

Illusion of Hope 157

Nondisclosure 179

Breach Form 195

Freedom 205

Healing 217

Acknowledgments 223

About the Author 227

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews