School Gyrls

School Gyrls

by School Gyrls



School Gyrls are three teenage girls (Mandy Rain, Jacque Nimble, and Mo'Money) who starred on the E! series Party Monsters Cabo and had their own movie that aired on Nickelodeon one month before their self-titled debut was released. Fittingly, their first record sounds like what the average teenage girl might listen to; there are club tracks, Avril Lavigne-style rock & roll, hip-hop jams, sweetly sung ballads, and a silly novelty rap song. Thanks to the girls' solid vocal ability, their good-natured charm, and the writing and producing teams that executive producer/Svengali Nick Cannon procured for the album, the record works. True, it's not going to win many points for originality (it jams in every popular trend heard in 2010 from Auto-Tune to retro-rave synths), but you have to admire the high level of quality that went into its conception and production. The sass and goofiness the girls inject into the songs are also nice; they don't just go through the motions but instead sound like they are having a blast romping through the corny rocker "Detention" or hamming it up on the goofy electro-rap song "Get Like Me." Even though they are a totally manufactured group, they sound like best friends having a good time, and that helps make the album a treat to listen to. Along with all that, there's the contender for Summer Jam of 2010 "Something Like a Party"; its pumping beats, soaring vocals, and hook that will stick in your head for weeks are sure to be soundtracking the summer at beaches, playgrounds, and malls. Teen girls and lovers of well-done, extremely catchy pop music alike will find plenty to like and admire on School Gyrls.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/23/2010
Label: Island
UPC: 0602527336596
catalogNumber: 001407202

Album Credits

Performance Credits

School Gyrls   Primary Artist
Louis Biancaniello   Keyboards
Mike Mani   Keyboards
Nick Cannon   Keyboards
Nikki Flores   Vocals
Daniel Davidsen   Guitar
Mitch Hansen   Percussion
Mandy Moseley   Group Member
Monica Parales   Group Member
Jacque Pyles   Group Member

Technical Credits

Louis Biancaniello   Composer,Programming,Producer
Mariah Carey   Composer
Cutfather   Producer
Mike Mani   Programming,Producer
Sam Watters   Producer
Ralph Churchwell   Composer,Engineer
Joleen Belle   Composer
Michael Seltzer   Music Business Affairs
Nick Cannon   Composer,Programming,Producer,Executive Producer,Instrumentation
Windy Wagner   Composer
Frankie Storm   Composer
Jonas Jeberg   Composer,Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
Todd Russell   Art Direction
Marisa Lauro   Marketing
Gabriela Schwartz   Marketing
Jordan Omley   Composer,Producer
Antoinette Trotman   Music Business Affairs
Samuel Watters   Composer
Timothy Thomas   Composer
Kristen Yiengst   Photo Coordination
Theron Thomas   Composer
Michael Mani   Composer
Jam   Producer,Engineer
Mich Hansen   Composer
Jordan Houyez   Composer,Producer
Steven Defino   Art Direction
Vol S. Davis   Music Business Affairs
Ian Allen   Music Business Affairs
Phillip Lynah   Engineer
Nicholas "Nick James" Turpin   Producer,Engineer,Vocal Producer
Kevin Writer   Composer,Producer,Vocal Producer,Instrumentation
Djibril Kagni   Composer,Producer
Cris "Theninjaneer" Maurera   Engineer
Nicholas Turpin   Composer
Jonathan Malone   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews