Sgt. Reckless: America's War Horse

Sgt. Reckless: America's War Horse

by Robin Hutton

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

A New York Times Bestseller!

From the racetrack to the battlefield—dauntless, fearless, and exemplar of Semper Fi—she was Reckless, "pride of the Marines."

A Mongolian mare who was bred to be a racehorse, Ah-Chim-Hai, or Flame-of-the-Morning, belonged to a young boy named Kim-Huk-Moon. In order to pay for a prosthetic leg for his sister, Kim made the difficult decision to sell his beloved companion. Lieutenant Eric Pedersen purchased the bodacious mare and renamed her Reckless, for the Recoilless Rifles Platoon, Anti-Tank Division, of the 5th Marines she’d be joining.

The four-legged equine braved minefields and hailing shrapnel to deliver ammunition to her division on the frontlines. In one day alone, performing fifty-one trips up and down treacherous terrain, covering a distance of over thirty-five miles, and rescuing wounded comrades-in-arms, Reckless demonstrated her steadfast devotion to the Marines who had become her herd.

Despite only measuring about thirteen hands high, this pint-sized equine became an American hero. Reckless was awarded two Purple Hearts for her valor and was officially promoted to staff sergeant twice, a distinction never bestowed upon an animal before or since.

Author Robin Hutton has reignited excitement about this nearly forgotten legend, realizing the Sgt. Reckless Memorial Monument at the National Museum of the Marine Corps, completed in July 2013, and now spurring the creation of a second memorial at Camp Pendleton, California, where Reckless lived out the rest of her days.

The paperback edition includes a new foreword by General James F. Amos, 35th Commandant of the U.S. Marine Corps. It will appeal to fans of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit, Elizabeth Letts' The Eighty Dollar Champion, and the feature film War Horse.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781621572756
Publisher: Regnery History
Publication date: 07/28/2014
Sold by: SIMON & SCHUSTER
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 109,316
File size: 11 MB
Note: This product may take a few minutes to download.

About the Author

Robin Hutton is currently the president of Angels Without Wings, Inc., a 501(c)3 non-profit corporation that spearheaded the development and dedication of a national memorial to Sgt. Reckless. The monument was dedicated at the National Museum of the Marine Corps on Friday, July 26, 2013, and an exhibit inside the museum was also opened at that time. A second monument is planned for Camp Pendleton to be dedicated at a later date, as well as one in South Korea.

 Hutton was recently named “Patriotic Citizen of the Year” by the local chapter of the Military Order of the World Wars and the Military Order of the Purple Heart for her charitable work. She was awarded that honor at the Ronald Reagan Library in June 2014.

 Hutton has spent her adult life working in major event productions and the motion picture business. She has been the writing partner of Tom Laughlin (the legend of Billy Jack fame) for the last thirty years, and is co-author of The 9 Indispensable Ingredients in Every Hit Film, TV Show, Play and Novel. Hutton currently lives in Santa Rosa Valley (Camarillo), CA.

Table of Contents

Preface: Remembering Sergeant Reckless xiii

Introduction xv

Part I Korea

Chapter 1 Before Reckless Became Reckless 3

Chapter 2 The "Reckless" Rifle Platoon 15

Chapter 3 From Flame to Reckless 31

Chapter 4 Reckless Takes Center Stage 53

Chapter 5 Reckless Hones Her Skills 63

Chapter 6 The "Battle of the Nevada Cities"-the Nevada Complex 75

Chapter 7 The War Winds Down 103

Chapter 8 Old Friends Leave, New Friends Arrive 123

Chapter 9 "Operation Bring Reckless Home" Begins 147

Part II A Hero's Journey

Chapter 10 America-Bound 161

Part III Life at Camp Pendleton

Chapter 11 Home, Sweet Home 183

Chapter 12 Reckless's Foals 233

Part IV In Memoriam and More

Chapter 13 "Famed Marine Horse 'Reckless' Dies at 20" 257

Chapter 14 A Legacy Lives On 265

Epilogue: The Making of the Monument: "Operation: Reckless" 273

Author's Note: With Thanks and Gratitude 295

Facts and Figures at a Glance 301

Notes 303

Bibliography 321

Pendleton Scout Articles 331

Index 335

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sgt. Reckless: America's War Horse 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
vlnw58 More than 1 year ago
I don't recall a time when I did not love horses. All horses, all breeds. Any book I could get my hands on about horses, I devoured while growing up. I have known about SSGT. Reckless all my life, but could never find anything except small aritcles about her. Then, Ms. Hutton comes on the scene. Ms. Hutton gives life to SSGT. Reckless' story. Through her words, the Marines and SSGT. Reckless become not just characters in an amazing part of history, but part of the reader's heart. When an author is able to do that, whether with fiction, or in this case a true story, to convey to the reader the story, the circumstances, and the people in a way that the reader feels he knnows the people personally afterwards, is a rare and special gift. Ms. Hutton has that gift.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful story of bravery, friendship and love between a remarkable horse and the Marines she served with during the Korean war. The story moves along nicely and the book has many photos
Anonymous More than 1 year ago