Shaft [2000 Original Soundtrack]

Shaft [2000 Original Soundtrack]


View All Available Formats & Editions


Although the soundtrack to John Singleton's 2000 remake of the classic blaxploitation flick SHAFT won't overshadow Isaac Hayes's phenomenal score to the 1971 original (for good measure, the original film's bad-ass theme is included), it does provide a butt-kicking mix of contemporary soul and hip-hop tracks. Drawing inspiration from the film's rule-breaking antihero John Shaft, who is played by Samuel L. Jackson in the remake, many of the tracks have a retro feel -- particularly R. Kelly's two cuts, the bluesy "Bad Man" and the gospel-tinged "Up and Outta Here." Other soul highlights include Angie Stone's Donna Summer-inspired "My Lovin' Will Give You Something" and Donell Jones's mellow "Do What I Gotta Do," which cleverly incorporates lyrics from his hit single "Where I Wanna Be" and a bass line from Hayes's rendition of "The Look of Love." On the hip-hop side, Mystikal speaks out against black-on-black crime on the prophetic "Ain't Gonna See Tomorrow," while Organized Noize's Sleepy Brown waxes poetic on the blaxploitation-flavored (with its wah wah guitar and clarinet) "Automatic," and Too $hort slips into his usual mack mode on the funk-drenched "Pimp Sh*t." All of this in honor of one bad mutha. That's right, we're just talkin' bout Shaft. Tony Green

Product Details

Release Date: 06/13/2000
Label: Arista
UPC: 0730082608022
catalogNumber: 26080

Album Credits

Performance Credits

John Clark   French Horn
Gerald Jackson   Keyboards
Randy Bowland   Guitar
Johnny Britt   Trumpet
Kenneth Burward-Hoy   Viola
Martha Caplin   Violin
Jeff Carney   Bass
Richard Auldon Clark   Violin
Harold Coletta   Viola
Preston Crump   Bass
Eve   Track Performer
Winterton Garvey   Violin
Isaac Hayes   Organ,fender rhodes
Richard Henrickson   Violin
McKinley Horton   Keyboards
Birch Johnson   Trombone
Joi   Background Vocals
Karen Karlsrud   Violin
Olivia Koppell   Viola
Jesse Levy   Cello
Liberty City   Track Performer
Cliff Lighty   Background Vocals
Donnie Lyle   Bass,Guitar
Bob Milikan   Trumpet
Kermit Moore   Cello
Keith O'Quinn   Trombone
Ron Oakland   Violin
Organized Noize   Drums,Keyboards
OutKast   Track Performer
Pimp C   Vocals
Douglas Purviance   Trombone
Sheila Reinhold   Violin
Fred Sawyers   Background Vocals
Lester Snell   Conductor,Keyboards
Angie Stone   Background Vocals
Too $hort   Track Performer
Joe Torano   Saxophone
UGK   Track Performer
Myra Walker   Background Vocals
Masako Yanagita   Violin
Mystikal   Track Performer
Ann Labin   Violin
Anthony Posk   Violin
Marshall Sealy   French Horn
Big Rube   Vocals
Jimmy Brown   Flute
Alfreda Gerald   Organ
Carl Thomas   Track Performer
Maxine Roach   Viola
Gerry DeVeaux   Background Vocals
Maura Giannini   Violin
Donell Jones   Track Performer
Lew Del Gatto   Flute
Pamela Posk   Violin
Dave Trigg   Trumpet
Fulanito   Track Performer
Backbone   Vocals
Daris Adkins   Guitar
Billy Odum   Guitar
Sheldon Goode   Guitar,Strings
Big Boi   Vocals
Big Gipp   Track Performer
Patrick "Sleepy" Brown   Background Vocals
Beanie Sigel   Track Performer
Jadakiss   Track Performer
Marvin "Chanz" Parkman   Keyboards
Bun B   Vocals
Mil   Track Performer
John Carbone   Bass
Sleepy Brown   Vocals,Track Performer
Parlé   Track Performer
T.I.P.   Track Performer
Alicia Keys   Piano,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Earthtone III   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Heavy D & the Boyz   Producer
R. Kelly   Arranger,Producer
Timmy Allen   Producer
Larry Campbell   Producer
George Clinton   Composer
Andre Debourg   Engineer
Chad "Dr. Seuss" Elliott   Producer
John Frye   Engineer
David Gamson   Arranger
Isaac Hayes   Producer,String Arrangements
Darren Lighty   Producer
Robin Mays   Engineer
Organized Noize   Producer
Kevin Parker   Engineer
Rob Paustian   Engineer
L.A. Reid   Producer
Lester Snell   Orchestration
Bill Stephney   Producer
Bernasky Wall   Engineer
Gerry DeVeaux   Producer,Engineer,Vocal Arrangements
William Jackson   Engineer
DJ Snake   Engineer
Edward "DJ Eddie F" Ferrell   Producer
Matt Still   Pro-Tools
Legendary Traxster   Producer,Engineer
Ralph Cacciurri   Engineer
Windose International   Engineer
André Benjamin   Composer
Scott Rudin   Executive Soundtrack Producer
Abel Garibaldi   Engineer
Antwan Patton   Composer
Joe "Smilin' Joe" Perrera   Engineer
Mike Wilson   Engineer
Kawan "KP" Prather   Producer
Sheldon Goode   Engineer
Warryn Campbell   Producer
Kerry Brothers   Composer
DJ Silk   Producer
Pa   Producer
William Berry Jackson   Engineer
E-Plugg   Engineer
Ian Mereness   Programming
John Singleton   Executive Soundtrack Producer
Isaac Hayes Orchestra   String Arrangements
Alicia Keys   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Earthtone III   Arranger,Producer
Ron Christopher Horvath   Engineer
Win & Dose   Producer
Tenisha Smith   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews