A Soldier's Dream: Captain Travis Patriquin and the Awakening of Iraq

A Soldier's Dream: Captain Travis Patriquin and the Awakening of Iraq

by William Doyle


View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days


For six months in 2006, a charismatic young U.S. Army captain and Arab linguist named Travis Patriquin unleashed a diplomatic and cultural charm offensive upon the Sunni Arab sheiks of Anbar province, the heart of darkness of the Iraqi insurgency. He galvanized American support for the “Sunni Awakening,” the tribal revolt against Al Qaeda that spread through the province and eventually across Iraq, a turning point that led to dramatically lower levels of violence in the country.

The Awakening may not have succeeded without Patriquin, who was so beloved by Iraqis that they adopted him into their tribes and loved him as a brother. This is the true story of a man who loved Iraq, and a soldier who helped engineer the turning point of the Iraq War.

It is the story of America’s T.E. Lawrence—Travis Patriquin.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780451236852
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 06/05/2012
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 1,207,844
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.70(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

William Doyle is the award-winning author of Inside the Oval Office: The White House Tapes from FDR to Clinton and An American Insurrection: James Meredith and the Battle of Oxford, Mississippi, 1962. He also served as director of original programming and executive producer for HBO, and won the Writers Guild of America Award for Best Documentary for his A&E special based on Inside the Oval Office.

Table of Contents

Author's Note ix

Prologue The Banks of the Euphrates 1

Chapter 1 The Gate of the Himalayas 17

Chapter 2 The Edge of the Arabian Desert 45

Chapter 3 The City of Death 61

Chapter 4 The Earth Was on Fire 87

Chapter 5 A Time to Strike 103

Chapter 6 Before the Dawn 119

Chapter 7 A Baptism in Blood 137

Chapter 8 The Awakening of Iraq 149

Chapter 9 The Men on the Wall 167

Chapter 10 A Cocky Son of a Bitch 189

Chapter 11 The Turning Point 21J

Chapter 12 A Soldier's Dream 239

Epilogue A Soldier's Legacy 263

Source Notes 287

Acknowledgments 308

Index 309

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews