Solitude Standing [Limited Edition] [Remastered]

Solitude Standing [Limited Edition] [Remastered]

by Suzanne Vega

CD(Remastered / Special Edition)

$11.20 $12.99 Save 14% Current price is $11.2, Original price is $12.99. You Save 14%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 17


The songs on Solitude Standing, Suzanne Vega's second album, had years listed beside them on the lyric sheet, so you could see that some of them dated back to 1978. But that bold admission heralded the album's triumph -- its diversity was what made it so good. Partially, that was because the old songs were the equal of anything on the first album -- tunes like the a cappella slice-of-life "Tom's Diner" and the warmly romantic "Gypsy" simply wouldn't have fit thematically on the debut. On Solitude Standing, however, they became part of an album of story songs set in a variety of musical contexts; many had band arrangements, and in fact, members of Vega's touring band often were credited as co-writers. Additionally, Vega had developed more as a singer without losing the focused intonation that had made her debut -- one of many compelling elements which helped make "Luka," a character song about domestic abuse, a fluke hit. [A limited-edition, remastered CD version of Solitude Standing was released in 2014.]

Product Details

Release Date: 06/10/2014
Label: Lmlr
UPC: 3700477821562
catalogNumber: 782156
Rank: 1577

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Suzanne Vega   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Frank Christian   Electric Guitar
Shawn Colvin   Background Vocals
Sue Evans   Percussion,Drums
Steve Addabbo   Guitar,Soloist
Mitch Easter   Rhythm Guitar
Anton Sanko   Synthesizer,Classical Guitar,Group Member
Marc Shulman   Electric Guitar,Group Member
Stephen Ferrera   Percussion,Drums,Group Member
Jon Gordon   Guitar,Soloist
Michael Viscaglia   Synthesizer,Bass Guitar,Group Member

Technical Credits

Suzanne Vega   Composer,Lyricist
Steve Addabbo   Producer,Engineer
Mitch Easter   Producer
Ronald K. Fierstein   Executive Producer
Lenny Kaye   Producer
Richard Lawrence   Stage Manager
Rod O'Brien   Engineer
Anton Sanko   Composer
Marc Shulman   Composer
Jeffrey Gold   Art Direction
Melanie Nissen   Art Direction
Paula Bullwinkel   Cover Photo
Richard Croft   Back Cover Photo
Stephen Ferrera   Composer
Michael Viscaglia   Composer
Robin Danal   Engineer
John Gallagher   Monitor Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews