Sonic Rebellion: Alternative Classical Collection [Barnes & Noble Exclusive]

Sonic Rebellion: Alternative Classical Collection [Barnes & Noble Exclusive]



How do you make sense of classical music since the first decades of the 20th century? Naxos of America provides an answer to this question that has vexed the music world with Sonic Rebellion, a collection of works by composers who personify an alternative classical sensibility that has run through the last century and continues today. The alternative classical sub-genre is music that stands outside of the classical music tradition as a response to -- and departure from -- its conventions. Alt-classical composers question accepted notions of beauty and even the concept of music itself; they encourage performers to create new sounds in previously unimaginable ways from old instruments; they find new places to perform their music beyond the concert hall. Alternative classical doesn't represent one particular compositional school or style: rather, it sums up an attitude, a mindset shared by composers who want to do things differently, and whose influences and influence can be heard not only in their own approach to music and sound but also in all forms & genres of alternative minded music, from jazz, to electronica, to punk rock & post punk, to out-rock & post-rock, as well as all out noise. John Cage's father once advised him: "If someone says 'can't,' that shows you what to do." It's a safe bet that the 12 iconoclastic composers on this aptly titled Naxos of America compilation would agree wholeheartedly with that defiant sentiment. From the Label

Product Details

Release Date: 06/03/2008
Label: Naxos
UPC: 0747313209071
catalogNumber: 8572090


  1. Short Ride in a Fast Machine, fanfare for orchestra
  2. Violin Concerto: 2nd movement
  3. Symphony No. 3, Op. 36 ("Symphony of Sorrowful Songs"): Lento e largo - Tranquillissimo
  4. Serenade, for string orchestra No. 1, W. 189: 2. Andante molto
  5. Sonatas and Interludes, for prepared piano: Sonata 13
  6. The Woman with the Alabaster Box, for chorus
  7. Lament for Jerusalem, for soprano, countertenor, chorus & orchestra (or ensemble): Cosmic Lament I
  8. Electric Counterpoint, for electric guitar, bass guitar & tape: Slow
  9. Piano Sonata No.1 ("Christus und die Fischer"), Op. 50: 3rd movement
  10. Quatuor pour la fin du temps, for violin, cello, clarinet & piano, I/22: 5. Louange à l'Éternité de Jésus
  11. Sulamith Ballet Suite, for orchestra: 1. Introduction
  12. Polish Requiem, for SATB, chorus & orchestra: Chaconne

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews