Stay With Me: The Faces Anthology

Stay With Me: The Faces Anthology

by Faces



The Faces were unanthologized on CD prior to 1999, but ever since Rhino's corking single-disc Good Boys...When They're Asleep..., the group has seen a number of different compilations of different sizes, of which Rhino U.K.'s 2012 set Stay with Me: Anthology is the fifth. At two discs, this has 2007's The Definitive Rock Collection as its closest cousin: they're both double discs that cover a tremendous amount of ground, but Stay with Me has a slight edge, weighing in at 36 tracks compared to Definitive's 30. Of those 30 tracks, 27 cuts are present and accounted for on Stay with Me -- the missing numbers are "Open to Ideas," "Jodie," and "(I Know) I'm Losing You," the latter two cuts from solo Rod Stewart albums where he was backed by the Faces -- and those other nine songs include some of the Faces' very best, including the roaring rocker "That's All You Need," Ronnie Lane's sweet, plaintive "Richmond," and the gloriously shambolic "On the Beach." Serious fans should pony up for 2004's Five Guys Walk into a Bar..., which is one of the great rock & roll box sets, but this double-disc set is like that box in miniature, containing the essence of the Faces in all their messy glory.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/23/2015
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227971793
catalogNumber: 532230

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Faces   Primary Artist
Rod Stewart   Vocals,Group Member
Ronnie Wood   Bass,Guitar,Harmonica,Vocals,Background Vocals,Group Member
Ian McLagan   Piano,Harmonium,Hammond Organ,Background Vocals,Clavinet,Group Member
Ronnie Lane   Bass,Guitar,Tambourine,Vocals,Background Vocals,Group Member
Tetsu Yamauchi   Bass,Group Member
Kenney Jones   Percussion,Drums,Group Member

Technical Credits

Chuck Berry   Composer
Bob Dylan   Composer
Paul McCartney   Composer
Small Faces   Producer
Rod Stewart   Composer
Ronnie Wood   Composer
Ian McLagan   Composer
Glyn Johns   Producer
Ike Turner   Composer
Bill Inglot   Producer
Robert "P-Nut" Johnson   Composer
Ronnie Lane   Composer
Tetsu Yamauchi   Composer
Kenney Jones   Composer
David Fricke   Liner Notes
Tom Wright   Cover Photo,Inlay Photography

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews