Surfer's Paradise

Surfer's Paradise

by Cody Simpson



Cody Simpson grew up on the east coast of Australia, not far from the beach known as Surfer's Paradise, but the title of his hastily assembled second album can also be seen as a retort to his debut: if that 2012 full-length was Paradise, this 2013 follow-up offers a sun-kissed variation of the same. Certainly, there's a heavy hippie vibe here, Simpson eager to paint himself as the kind of troubadour who'd wander along the beach in sandals, clutching an acoustic guitar in hopes of serenading the next girl who comes his way. In other words, he sounds a little bit like a teen pop version of Jack Johnson or Jason Mraz, which is indeed fruitful territory as those two sunny singer/songwriters write love songs that could be mistaken for sweet, sticky teen pop. The transition from run-of-the-mill teen popster to cheerful balladeer isn't necessarily painless -- "Imma Be Cool," complete with guest rap, may induce a cringe -- but the surf-and-sun concept gives Simpson a persona he lacked on Paradise and it also generates some appealingly breezy tunes.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/16/2013
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0075678684227
catalogNumber: 536036

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Cody Simpson   Primary Artist,Vocals,Background Vocals
Andrew Goldstein   Percussion,Keyboards
Emanuel Kiriakou   Bass,Percussion,Keyboards
Ivan Bodley   Bass
Matt Squire   Background Vocals
Andrew Watt   Guitar,Percussion,Vocals
Eren Cannata   Percussion,Piano,Keyboards
Mintman   Synthesizer,Guitar
Alex DeLeon   Background Vocals
C.J. Baran   Background Vocals
Lucas Secon   Synthesizer,Background Vocals
Michael Warren   Acoustic Guitar
Chris Morris   Acoustic Guitar
Jon Sosin   Guitar,Ukulele

Technical Credits

Andrew Goldstein   Programming,Producer
Pete Hofmann   Pro-Tools
Ziggy Marley   Composer
Emanuel Kiriakou   Composer,Programming,Producer
Wayne Wilkins   Composer,Producer
Matt Squire   Composer,Producer,Instrumentation
John Hanes   Engineer
Andrew Watt   Composer,Producer
Toby Gad   Composer
Antwoine "T-Wiz" Collins   Composer,Producer
Eren Cannata   Producer
Alex DeLeon   Composer
Asher Roth   Composer
Nick Bilardello   Art Direction
Nolan Sipe   Composer,Producer
C.J. Baran   Producer,Instrumentation
Ryan Petersen   Composer,Producer
Timothy Thomas   Composer
Lucas Secon   Composer,Engineer,beats
Carsten Mortensen   Composer
Theron Thomas   Composer
Rich King   Composer
Ryan Williamson   Composer,Producer
Keinan Warsame   Composer
Futuristics   Producer
Alex Schwartz   Composer
Michael Warren   Composer
Cody Simpson   Composer
Jens Koerkemeier   Engineer
Jacob Lutrell   Composer
J.P. "The Specialist" Negrete   Engineer,Vocal Engineer
Christopher J. Baran   Composer
Chris McDonald   Engineer
Joe Khajadourian   Composer
Rob Gold   Art Manager
Roman Ramirez   Composer
Brandon Salaam Bailey   Composer
Troy Noka   Producer,Engineer
Alexandre Castillo Vasquez   Composer
Terence Coles   Composer
Kevin Aryaeji   Composer,Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews